I’ve never fully understood redemtption until my father took his own life.

 

12309681_10153673436031007_3542092566652662534_o

If you’ve never seen redemption, this is what it looks like.

I’ve never fully understood redemption until my father took his own life. What I thought he stole from us that day turned out to be a gift.
Because he made the choice to leave us behind on that rainy Monday, this precious little girl now lives in my home.

My husband and I have been given the gift of parenting my teenage sister. We’ve been blessed with loving her through her pain and watching as the corners of her mouth gradually sneak up to her cheeks to form a smile.

Her story was set to be told by a very different narrator.
The road she traveled on was rough terrain.

But redemption came that day.

God’s redeeming my story by allowing me to parent her in the absence of our father.
God’s redeeming her story by allowing her to get a daily glimpse of our father through my eyes.

If you’ve never seen redemption, this is what it looks like.

3 thoughts on “I’ve never fully understood redemtption until my father took his own life.

  1. Im so sorry for your loss and your sister on such a young age. I had the same thing happening to me, my father took his life. My brother was only 17 at the time. Its 20 years ago but it seems like yesterday. But thats another story. Its amazing how you can see the beauty in everything. Cause i know first hand how awfull it is to loose someone like that. You re an inspiring person. Strong woman. Yet kind and compassioned. And…a great writer! Thanks for all that.

Leave a Reply

