What I Plan To Tell My Kids About Bruce Jenner And The Stones In Their Hands.

When it comes to talking to my kids about Bruce Jenner and what he’s going through, I will tell them what MY FAMILY believes about all of it. I will tell them, the best I can, what the bible says about it because in this house that is our manual.

I will tell them what WE THINK is truly going on with him. I will tell all of this to them with as much compassion and kindness as I can.

I will remind them that no one on the cover of any magazine is in their true form and all are air brushed and tweaked. No photoshopped picture reveals anyone’s true beauty. No picture period shows someone’s true beauty, that needs to be found within.

I will let them know that if they ever feel different, strange or not who they want to be that it’s okay to tell mom and dad with zero fear of rejection.

Most important, I will tell them that no matter what our views are and what we feel is right and wrong, we are not allowed to be judgemental jerks. I will tell them that a sin is a sin in the eyes of God and because of that we are on the same playing field that Bruce is. He’s a sinner just like I am, transgender, gay, straight, transsexual or whatever, when it comes to sorting sinners we are going to the same pile. We are not above anyone and never will be here on earth.

I will remind them that it is not our place to judge, that’s for God to sort out. We are not the jury.

I will tell them that Jesus loves Bruce the same way he loves them. I will remind them that it is our responsibility as followers of Christ to behave, as much as we can, the way that Christ would.

I will remind them of the adulterous woman who stood to be stoned until Jesus stepped in. I will challenge them to be the face of Jesus in the situation and not the face of the people who gripped the stones.

river-stone

10 thoughts on “What I Plan To Tell My Kids About Bruce Jenner And The Stones In Their Hands.

  1. Nail on the head… A truly Jesus, grace filled perspective. very well said. I love your guts Jesus girl 😊😉

  2. Very well said. For my reference in conversation with my child, what does the bible say about transgenders? Which passage can I reference?

  3. Things like this are so tricky with our kids. You explained it so well. Our boys have yet to catch wind of this, but I am sure they will at some point. Thanks for some help on how to handle it with a loving, grace filled point of view.

Leave a Reply

