Stop, Collaborate and Listen

A few months ago my husband and I prayed that God would change our lives in a way that would reflect Him and His will. We wanted to give up whatever we needed to in order to be able to spend as much time with our kids as possible. We wanted to be the biggest influence in their lives and their most present spiritual leaders.

Time with our children is far more valuable than anything we could ever buy them and is something we can never get back once it’s gone.

We both agreed to surrender to His will no matter what we had to face.

I ended up quitting my pretty decent paying job with amazing benefits and my husband arranged his job to be able to work strictly from home so he could take care of our baby boy. We prayed that God would lead me to a job that allowed me to be with our girls as much as possible and that offered our family insurance.

God gave me a job at our triplets school in a school district that offers great benefits.
I took it.

But as I sat in the meeting room in the central office building on Tuesday, waiting for orientation to start, I began to panic.

Did we make the right choice?
Are we going to be able to make it financially?
Do my kids even want me at their school every day?
Will I miss out on my little baby boy?
Did I just make a huge mistake?

As I was doubting myself the director of human recourse walked in.
I recognized her right away.

Our triplets go to school at the same elementary school that I went to and our oldest daughter goes to the same middle school I went to. I am very familiar with the schools, our school district and many of the teachers.

The human resources director was my cheerleading instructor my freshman year in high school.

Was this a sign from God that this was His will and the path He wants me on?
I need more God.
Give me something more obvious.
Slap me in the face with a sign, a big sign.
Ease my trouble mind.

And that’s when she lifted her coffee mug and took a sip.

A blue mug that read
Stop, Collaborate and Listen.

There it was.
That was my sign.
He slapped me right in the face with it.

I’m a pretty huge Vanilla Ice fan. Old school, shaved eyebrow, parachute pants wearing Vanilla Ice. Bleach blonde flat top, Ice Ice Baby, smooth dancing, beat stealing Vanilla Ice.

Vanilla Ice, who just so happened to be extremely popular my freshman year in highschool. Vanilla Ice, who most of you will probably have to google just to find out who he is.
Vanilla Ice, who’s obvious and well know lyrics were painted on the mug in the hands of my freshman teacher who just happen to be introducing me to the job that would allow me to be present in my daughters lives even while they were off at school and allow me to be off summer and holidays with them.

It was my reminder from God that His plan for me started a long time ago and He has been putting the right people and the right opportunities in my path since I had a path to follow.

I was not in that room by accident.
The position at my girl school did not randomly become available.
My husband wasn’t able to change things around and work from home because of luck.

This was God’s plan all along.
Long before I even knew that I would be a mommy and wife.
Long before I needed a new job.
Long before I tried out for cheerleading
Long before Vanilla Ice ever took the stage.

God had this plan for me as He knitted me together in my mother’s womb with His very own strong and gentle hands.

When we surrender to God’s will for us the reward is immeasurable.
When we set our fears aside and trust in the One who created us our lives will be richer than a Ghirardelli chocolate bar.

God’s plan is good even when it seems a little scary.

Will you surrender to His plan today our will you try to remain in control and gain the things that you want instead of the things that He wants for you?

This week as been full of blessings reminding me that we have made the right decision.

On Tuesday as I walked out the door for work our teenager yelled at me from her room “I’m proud of you!”.

On Wednesday when I woke my 7 year old triplets by singing “who wants to go to work with mommy” one of them shot out of bed and said “this is the best day of my life!”.

And yesterday as I walked around the cafeteria doing lunch duty during the triplets lunch period one of them raised their hand for me to come over. When I got to her she looked me in the eyes, gave me a thumbs up and said “you’re doing a great job mom.”.

Thank you God.

These are the little people who make surrendering to Him an easy decision.

 

15164_10152308533376007_5997081118566044678_n

 

1549396_10152381437871007_4034554727667254684_n 5

 

4

 

 

3

 

 

2

 

1

Leave a Reply

