And that was the moment when my heart burst wide open.

bella 6

A small ladybug charm dangled from the ring on her little hand as she checked each tag for a size. As soon as she found the tag she would proudly call the size out and then hand me the donated dress.I sorted them into piles.

I watched her do this for almost an hour.I could have watched her do it all night.

She was the only child in the room full of college students but didn’t even realize it.

The homeless women began to file in and take their seat. They made their hair appointment and gazed around at all the beautiful dresses hanging on the wall just waiting to be chosen.

The wonderful woman in charge introduced Bella to everyone in the room and referred to her as “A Special Guest”. She explained that Bella was there to pass out Bella’s Blessing Bag, her donation to these women.

Bella was presented with a gift from the college  that was putting on the event and you could not wipe the smile off that little girls face. It took everything in her to not come unglued with excitement. Her little dimples cut into her cheeks and she smiled at me with a look of pride on her face that I had never seen before.

Bella gathered up her blessing bags in her little arms and passed them out to each woman. They were grateful for this 7 year olds servant heart.

One woman who was worn by the sun, blown by the wind and tired from the years, reached out for Bella’s hand and I said a quick prayer that my little girl wouldn’t flinch.

I watched the small ladybug charm dangle from my daughters tiny hand as she reached for the woman’s hand that was extended to her. The woman took Bella’s hand in hers, looked her in the eyes and said “People like you make a difference in the world because you are good, you are good”.

And that was the moment when my heart burst wide open.

This woman is God’s child and for whatever reason He put her on this path. Maybe it was for this very moment. Maybe it was so she could cup my little girl’s soft hand in hers and tell my daughter that she is good.

My little girl is God’s child and for whatever reason He put her on this path. Maybe it was for this very moment. Maybe it was so she could take this woman’s sun-dried hand in hers and remind her that people are good.

As followers of Christ we are called to serve each other, love each other, give to each other, forgive each other and treat each other with respect.

Tonight I learned humility from the women who, even under their circumstance, proudly walked in to that room, held their heads up high and accepted the grace and love of others.

Tonight I learned what a true servants heart looks like. My little girl trotted into that room, didn’t shy away from a single person in there and served these women who most view as the least of these.

My heart is busted. I’m not the same. God is good.

bella 2bella 4bella 1bella

7 thoughts on “And that was the moment when my heart burst wide open.

Leave a Reply

