Saved a Wretch Like Me

10153193_10152320733841007_4790799125271701337_n - Edited

 

Seven weeks ago our sweet baby boy was born. It was amazing and terrifying.

The doctor who delivered me (yep, he’s old) and our 4 daughters also delivered our baby boy. He’s amazing and I trust him with everything.

During the surgery he whistled, he always does. As he delivered our son he sang Happy Birthday to him and held him up in the air as if he was Simba in The Lion King. I had to fight the urge to call him Mufasa. I love this man.

My amazing doctor is calm, compassionate and makes it his goal to not only deliver healthy babies but to make sure that mom never worries.

I had no idea that I was losing a mass amount of blood while he was operating on me.

Due to issues during delivery and another unexpected emergency procedure I ended up requiring two blood transfusions.

As I sat there watching someone else’s blood enter my body I’ll admit that I was grossed out. I was also in awe. It was literally saving my life.

Two people whom I have never met and will never meet here on earth made a sacrifice that saved me. They don’t know my name or what I look like. They don’t know that I am a mommy, a wife, a daughter and a sister. They just made the sacrifice.

I pray that they are believers in Christ, not because I’m weird and have some hang up about non believer blood in me but because I want to see them one day and the only way that it will ever happen is when God reveals it to me in heaven. Until then I will be praying for them.

There’s only been one other time that I’ve required a blood transfusion.
On a Friday, many years ago, a  man who had never met me  but loved me in a way that I’m not capable of understanding shed his blood to save my life.  He is calm, compassionate and made it his goal to deliver us from evil and save us from our sins.

Jesus stood bravely and willing gave his blood for me, so that I would be saved and live forever with my heavenly  father.

His blood saved me.

Jesus stood bravely and willing gave his blood for you, so that you would be saved and live forever with your heavenly father.

His blood saved you.

He is The Healer.

The Redeemer.

The  Doctor and The Nurse.

The Jury and The Judge.

The Beginning and The End.

He is your Savior, your blood transfusion.

 

Amazing Grace, how sweet the sound,

That saved a wretch like me.

I once was lost but now am found,

Was blind, but now I see.

Leave a Reply

