A Little More Like Mouse

mousey-tail

 

*Repost*

“Mommy I need two buns, one on each side of my head”.

I spent a few minutes brushing and styling her hair the way she asked and then made her go look in the mirror to make sure it’s what she wanted. She ran to the hall mirror and gazed in at her new hairstyle in awe of how perfect it was.

“Yep, that’s perfect”

Oh God please be with this little girl today and protect her heart when she gets made fun of.

I didn’t try to talk her out of it because I let my girls wear what they want as long as it doesn’t go against our family dress code rules of no skin showing between your shirt and pants (even when you sit down) and nothing shorter than mid-thigh. Oh, the clothes also have to be the appropriate size, not skin-tight.

So, she got dressed and proudly did her runway walk for her sister. My oldest gave me the look as if to say “Mom seriously, you’re going to let her go like that”. I could easily whip out some pictures of my oldest when she was little and dressed herself for school but I opted to pass.

Myleigh’s a little more timid than her sisters and tends to be the one who hides behind my back in public. She says funny things without meaning them to be funny and then cries when we all laugh. She lacks the self-confidence that my others seem to have a little too much of. She’s actually told her teacher that she doesn’t measure up to her sisters. She’s often the one that goes unnoticed.

I worried for her as I dropped her off at school that day. I knew the kids would say something about her hair and that deep down she would be devastated.

Her ears stick out a little , her new glasses magnify her eyes and when she smiles all you can see are her gums. She is the most precious and loving child but I worry that the kids won’t see passed all those things and will turn from her before they see her heart.

Later that day I went to the school to pick up on of the triplets who was faking sick. I ended up in empty classroom with one of the teachers and she told me a story about my little girl.

She said that Myleigh was in her classroom that day and sat down with a group of kindergarteners. She stood up put her hands out in a welcoming fashion and said “Ok guys, let me tell you about church”. She went on to detail our church and church activities.

On the car ride home she pulled out her handwriting book (I think that’s what she called it) and read what she wrote about loving someone. “Mommy, mine says I love Jesus”. Her sister chimed in “I know what mommy’s going to say back Myleigh. Jesus loves you too”.

I wonder how many times my little odd ball of a child has proudly and fearlessly been a disciple.
How many times have I missed it.
Why did I worry about her choice in hair style?
Why did I worry about the kids making fun of her?

She’s a Jesus girl.
A disciple for the Lord.

I thought that she was shy yet she commanded a table of 6 year olds so that she could teach about The Prince of Peace.
I thought that she was going to get teased yet she bravely and courageously preach about our sweet Savior.

She is a disciple for the Lord, a follower of Christ, a Jesus girl through and through.

If we could all just be half the missionary that she is I think we could change the world.

I learned from her this week.
I learned that it doesn’t matter where you’re headed today, you can still praise His great name.
I learned that you are never too small to make a huge impact on someone’s life.
I learned that you don’t have to be in front of a huge congregation, you can preach at a kindergarten table.
I learned that it’s better to stand out than to fit in.

Today I must be as brave as Myleigh and not worry about what people think of me, not worry about looking the part, not worry about persecution. I must be a disciple no matter where I am.

I’m envious of my little girls confidence and ability to command an audience while wearing a hair style that looks like Princesses Leia just rolled out of bed.

Will you bravely stand in honor of our King today?
Will you confidently preach His great name?
Will you be His hands and feet no matter where He takes you?
Will you rock two buns, winter boots, leggings that don’t match, an old t-shirt and reach your arms out as if to welcome the word to know who you are in Christ?

Let’s pray

Heavenly Father empty me. Empty me of the things that I feel are important and break my heart for what breaks yours. Help me stand boldly in your name no matter where I am or who I’m in front of. Send me out to be your hands and feet. In Jesus name, amen.

Every since birth we have called Myleigh “Mousey” or “Mousey Tail” or “Misky Mouse” because she has, well let’s just say she has very mouse like physical qualities. I remind her everyday that God gave her bigger ears because she’s an angel and needs to hear people’s prayers. He gave her that big gummy smile so that people could see the joy of Christ through her expression. He gave her those glasses that magnify her beautiful eyes so that she could more clearly see the people who need her help. I pray that one day I am as beautiful as this little Mouse.

2 thoughts on “A Little More Like Mouse

Leave a Reply

