Best Day Of Your Life.

best day of life 1

“Mommy, this is the best day of my life.”
We were just sitting there digging in the dirt. We were watching our daughters plant seeds next to the house. The oldest triplet, Myleigh, was the one letting me know that it was the best day of her life.

Her hands where full of dirt and grime and she looked like she hadn’t had a bath in days.

I’m not sure if it was playing in the yard that made it the best day of her life or that we were all hanging out together, daddy and I on the porch and our girls in the yard.

Either way, she was happy.

She tells us almost every day that it is the best day of her life. We can be anywhere doing anything and she will turn to us, smile and say “This is the best day of my life”.

A few weeks ago one of the triplets borrowed a messenger bag from her big sister and swapped out her backpack. It caused a thermal nuclear meltdown with the other two triplets. They wanted to change out their backpacks for one of sissy’s bags too.

Sissy only had two extra bags.
Triplets come in three’s.
We ended up at the store searching for three new bags.

Each girl picked a new bag and proudly paraded it through the store. When we got to the car Myleigh thanked me for the new bag and told me “this is the best day of my life”.

It was just a princess backpack.

Even when I took her to the dentist and she was shaking in fear, she still told me that it was the best day of her life. She walked out with a prize for being so good and she bragged to everyone that she got to go to the dentist.

She makes a choice, no matter what, that every day is the best day of her life.

It may seem silly to us because we have bigger issues pressing on us than a six-year-old does but what if we all followed Myleigh’s lead.

What if we all chose to make every day, no matter what, the best day of our lives.

Loving on your babies.
Best day of your life.
Promotion at work.
Best day.
Perfect cup of coffee.
Best day.
Heart gets broken.
Best day.
Lose your job.
Best day.

What if we could see the beauty even in the days that we feel failed us? What if we had faith even in our darkest hour.

If we are fully faithful in God’s plan for our lives then it should be easy. Unfortunately we are human and can’t help but to fill ourselves with doubt, hurt, disappointment and anger.

Have you ever noticed that when you look back on those days that you thought were going to crush you under its ugly weight, you see  why God put you through it.

I look back on the days when I thought my marriage was going to fail. Standing there in tears, heartbroken.  Desperate.  I can’t help but to give praise for what those moments did for us. It took those days for us to appreciate our life together and I wouldn’t change a moment of what God put us through.

I look back on the four days that we sat up hour after hour while two of our triplets where being re-hydrated through an IV. Scared for my babies. Tired and completely drained.  It made me appreciate how healthy our family really is and that we have readily available care for when we get sick.

I look back on my father’s suicide. I can picture sitting on the ledge in front of the fireplace in our room. My hand was to mouth and I focused on my breathing. Nothing could ever hurt the way that moment did. I look back and give praise for the amazing friends and family that I have. Without them I would have crumbled. His suicide opened a whole new world for me and gave me W3, new and old friends, the ability to lay my heart down on paper, a closer relationship with my little siblings and renewed appreciation of what my life and actions mean to my daughters.

Sometimes we don’t know that we are in the middle of the best day of our lives.
Sometimes we are too focused on the bad to notice the good.
Sometimes we are so scared of what’s behind the door that we failed to see that it might be a gift.

What if we chose to make each day the best day of our lives.
What if we decided that no matter what is behind the door we are going to have faith that it is God’s plan.
What if we simply had faith, all the time, in every circumstance.

Will you make today the best day of your life?

Let’s pray

Heavenly Father thank you for the dirt on our hands, the heart-break, the loss and the pain. Help us to understand that everything we face is part of your great plan for us. Show us how to take a deep breath and put our faith in you no matter what is standing before us. We know that you love us and when we face these things your heart breaks for us but like any good parent you know you have to let us go through it so that we can learn the lesson in it. Thank you for the lessons. In Jesus name, amen.

No matter what happens today have faith that it is God’s amazing plan for you. Remind yourself over and over that today is the best day of your life.

One thought on “Best Day Of Your Life.

  1. This is the best story I’ve read in a long time!!! I needed to hear thus today!!! Thanks for reminding me To enjoy each day and make every day the BEST day!! Give “mouse” a huge hug and kiss for me and tell her thank you!! Sent via the HTC Vivid™, an AT&T 4G LTE smartphone

Leave a Reply

