This Will Only Hurt For A Second.

pulling  teeth

Our oldest daughter had to have three teeth pulled yesterday. To be honest I was a little upset that they pulled my favorite tooth.

Yes, I have a favorite tooth. It’s a little baby tooth that kind of stuck out a little from the top. It gave her character and it reminded me of Jewel (the singer).

She hated that tooth and it made her self-conscious. I knew that she tried to hide it when she smiled and it made me sad for her. So off to the dentist we went.

When I picked her up from school I could tell how nervous she was. This was the first time that she had any real dental work done. She talked a mile a minute all the way to the dentist.

I told her several times not to be nervous because she really wasn’t going to feel anything. I reminded her that it would be over before she knew it and I let her know that she was in great hands. We love our dentist and have faith in her that she will do her best to make the kids comfortable.

I gave her my dental stories (lost my teeth in a skateboarding accident, long story) and reminded her that I’m still alive. She was going to be just fine.

As they reclined her back in the chair I could see her little heart beating as fast as it could. She started to twitch her toes out of nervousness.

They laughing gas mask went on and she slowly began to smile.

After a few shots and an “ouch” here and there, she was starting to feel good. Wait, she wasn’t feeling good, she wasn’t feeling anything.

The dentist grabbed her tools and began to twist, push and pull. It took only 10 minutes for her to yank the teeth out. Just like that it was all over. My daughter had been in the seat for less that 35 minutes.

The dentist and I started chit chatting about our kids and got a little caught up. About 15 minutes later my daughter picked her head up from the chair and asked when she was going to get her teeth pulled.

Seriously.

How may times do we of that in our lives?

We stress and stress over what is to come.
We panic over what might happen.
We anticipate the pain.
We lose our control over the situation.
We stay awake all night worrying.

Then we get on to the other side of what we spent so much time  fearing and realize that it didn’t kill us. It didn’t ruin us, it didn’t make our world completely stop. And just maybe, it didn’t hurt as bad as we thought it would.

We are pretty silly to worry so much.

Just like I tried to comfort my daughter the entire way to the dentist, our heavenly Father gives us words of comfort everyday. He reminds us that He has gone before us.
It’s the truth, check it out.

“Those who know your name will trust in you, for you, LORD, have never forsaken those who seek you.” Psalms 9:10

“In God, whose word I praise, in God I trust; I will not be afraid. What can mortal man do to me?” Psalms 56:4

“So do not fear, for I am with you; do not be dismayed, for I am your God. I will strengthen you and help you; I will uphold you with my righteous right hand” Isaiah 41:10

“do not be anxious about anything, but in everything by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known to God.” Philippians 4:6

We are told by our Father to not worry. He tells us that He will take care of us.

We worry anyways.

We don’t have to.

When we face our trials today let’s stop and remind ourselves that the One who goes before us loves us and only wants good for us.
When we stand in fear of what is to come let’s stop and think about how big our God is and with Him on our side,  nothing can be against us.
When our hearts are beating as fast as the can in anticipation of the future let’s take a deep breath and give it all to Him.

I have to remind myself several times throughout the day that I have an army of angels. I have memorized the lyrics to a song and repeat them all day long.

I know who goes before me
I know who stands behind
The God of angel armies is always by my side
The One who reigns forever
He is a friend of mine
The God of angel armies is always by my side- Chris Tomlin

Sing with me today.

Loving Father thank you for the blanket of protection that you wrap us in daily. When we are stressed, worried and anxious gently remind us that you have gone before us. Help us to rest in your strength and give all of our concerns to you. Help us to remember that the God of angel armies is always by our side. In Jesus name, amen.

As we were leaving the dentist the receptionist asked my daughter if she wanted a toy from the treasure chest. My teenaged daughter lit up with excitement and went to claim her prize. It was my gentle reminder that even though she is growing up, she is still just a kid who needs her parents protection just like we are all still children who need our Fathers protection.

Leave a Reply

