Wash Your Feet

washing-feet-1

 

My daughter had her end of the year band concert last night. The school gets pretty packed because of all the families that go to watch their student perform.

There are several levels of band so they play concerts in sets of 30 minutes each. The lobby of the school is full of giggling middle school kids and tons of parents.

As I STOOD waiting for our turn to go into the cafeteria, I noticed several men sitting in the chairs of the lobby. I think that there were more women standing than there were men sitting. Not one of those men got up and gave their seat to a woman.

I don’t know about you but both myself and my older brother were brought up to respect elders and women. If either one of us was sitting while a woman was standing you better bet that my mother made us give up our set to her.

It was also mandatory that we held the door open for anyone that was near us, man,woman or child, it didn’t matter, we better open the door.

My husband and I are raising our daughter the same way. We expect our girls to answer us with “yes ma’am” or “yes sir” even when we are at home. They are also expected to use those same manners when we are out in public to anyone that they speak to.

We might be a little more strict than others but I believe every lesson is first learned at home and that what we expect in our home will carry out to how they act in public.

My husband would never walk in front of me or go through a door in front of me. He also still opens the car door for me. He is setting an example every day for my daughters and what they should expect from the man who God has chosen for them.

I feel very strongly about a man giving up his seat to a woman and if anyone thinks that they are above giving up their seat, read what Jesus did as an act of submission.

Yes submission, Jesus was submissive to humans and served them.

Read it slowly and read it all, its worth it. I usually only put a simple verse in but this one needs to be read in its entirety. I know its long but just take a second to let it soak in. Think about what our sweet Jesus was doing.
13 It was just before the Passover Festival. Jesus knew that the hour had come for him to leave this world and go to the Father. Having loved his own who were in the world, he loved them to the end.
2 The evening meal was in progress, and the devil had already prompted Judas, the son of Simon Iscariot, to betray Jesus. 3 Jesus knew that the Father had put all things under his power, and that he had come from God and was returning to God; 4 so he got up from the meal, took off his outer clothing, and wrapped a towel around his waist. 5 After that, he poured water into a basin and began to wash his disciples’ feet, drying them with the towel that was wrapped around him.
6 He came to Simon Peter, who said to him, “Lord, are you going to wash my feet?”
7 Jesus replied, “You do not realize now what I am doing, but later you will understand.”
8 “No,” said Peter, “you shall never wash my feet.”
Jesus answered, “Unless I wash you, you have no part with me.”
9 “Then, Lord,” Simon Peter replied, “not just my feet but my hands and my head as well!”
10 Jesus answered, “Those who have had a bath need only to wash their feet; their whole body is clean. And you are clean, though not every one of you.” 11 For he knew who was going to betray him, and that was why he said not every one was clean.
12 When he had finished washing their feet, he put on his clothes and returned to his place. “Do you understand what I have done for you?” he asked them. 13 “You call me ‘Teacher’ and ‘Lord,’ and rightly so, for that is what I am. 14 Now that I, your Lord and Teacher, have washed your feet, you also should wash one another’s feet. 15 I have set you an example that you should do as I have done for you. 16 Very truly I tell you, no servant is greater than his master, nor is a messenger greater than the one who sent him. 17 Now that you know these things, you will be blessed if you do them.
I’m pretty sure that I wouldn’t wash my friends feet and I know for sure that I wouldn’t wash the feet of someone who I knew for a fact was going to betray me that same day.

Think about what the disciples feet looked like.

They weren’t exactly walking around in Nike tennis shoes with support soles and comfy socks. They were barefoot or in sandals. Their feet were callous, dirty and rough.

Jesus washed them anyways.

I know that giving up your seat to another really does not compare to what Jesus did for His disciples but it is all about servant-hood and setting the example for the people around you.

My husband knows that I am perfectly capable of opening the car door by myself but it is his way of serving me as my husband.

Jesus set the example for us that day. I’m not asking you to wash someones feet today but feel free to if that’s how you want to serve. I am asking you to serve the people around you as an act of love.

I don’t just mean serve your family, I mean serve the lady loading groceries into her car. Serve the man who is holding the “please help” sign as you are sitting in your air-conditioned car at a red light. And for crying out loud give your seat up to the lady that is standing, leaning against the wall.

We are servants of Christ and when we serve the people around us it gives Him great joy. Through us He gets to touch lives that might not ever get touched, its our job. It is our responsibility.

Lets Pray

“Jesus, thank you for kneeling down in front of the men who followed you, even the man who you knew was going to betray you, and washing their feet. Thank you for the example of serving and love that You gave us that day. Please help us to humble ourselves and serve You everyday by serving the people around us. Make me Your servant and do with me what is Your will and not mine. In Your sweet name, Amen.”

I was in a bible study about 15 years ago and one of the girls in class had just come back from getting engaged. Her boyfriend left signs for her giving her directions through some woods that lead to a clearing of beautiful land. When she finally made it to the clearing he had set up a chair and basin at the foot of the chair. He quietly sat her down and washed her feet. He then asked her to be his wife. Its one of the most romantic proposals that I have ever heard. I got home from work last night and stuck my feet in my husbands face. I didn’t get the same results that she did.

Leave a Reply

