Loving On The Little Ones

kids heart
Our sweet sister Angela is on the mic this morning. Take it away Angela.

I often joke the small town I live in is a bubble. I like to say it’s the last nice small town in Texas. My children go to a beautiful public school with amazing teachers and staff. I am blessed. I probably appreciate the beauty of this small town and amazing public school more than most. We landed in this town as Hurricane Katrina evacuees. 2 dogs, 2 kids –ages 3 and under and knew not a single person. Strange isn’t it? I look back on it now, 7 years later, and think wow….how could I have done that without God’s help? Of course, I know, I couldn’t have. He knew where I was going, he knew where I needed to be to raise a family, GOD guided me here. I am thankful. I am so grateful that my children go to a school where teachers talk about this season of Christmas and what it means. My son brought home the following letter in his backpack this week.

Dear Parents,

As parents, we are always looking for ways to keep reminding ourselves of how fortunate we are that God has blessed each of us with children. A pastor wrote this article several years ago. At the approach of the holidays we like to take it out and reread it. We want to share it with you. We hope that you will consider these things as you and your family head into the holiday season.

SEVEN ESSENTIAL ASPECTS OF LOVING YOUR CHILDREN

1. UNCONDITIONAL COMMITMENT – Tell them that no matter what, you will always love them.

2. SCHEDULED TIME – Schedule some time during this holiday period to be with your child.

3. AVAILIBITY – Turn the TV off if your child comes to you. Be available to them.

4. TENDER TREATMENT – Harshness, anger and lecturing – try something different this holiday.

5. FREQUENT EYE CONTACT – Offer undivided attention, don’t look at the clock, put the cell phone down and look at your child.

6. LISTEN IN AN UNDERSTANDING WAY – Don’t ridicule what your child is saying, for clarification, repeat back to them what you hear, get excited about their dreams.

7. USE MEANINGFUL TOUCHING – Hug your child! It communicates that they are of value.

With the holiday season soon to be upon us we know as parents we will want to savor the precious moments that we will have with our own children. As teachers we feel very fortunate to be able to teach your child. We want to thank you for giving us the opportunity. Sincerely, 4th Grade teachers

Blessed beyond measure. This is not a cliché for me. I mean it with all of my heart. Thank you God for teachers who care, pastors who share and parents who love unconditionally

Leave a Reply

