5 Letter Word

mustard

Sylvia is on the mic today. Take it away Sylvia!

I have to admit that I have been using the 5 letter word so much that my Son is using it. He called recently and shared some of his frustration about work, finances, and transportation issues that he is going through. We talked for hours and that 5 letter word was used almost in each sentence.

Yes…I am sure you know it very well and I am sure you all have used it often as well.

FAITH……It was a word that I have used very much with my son, its been almost 2 years that my son has changed his way of living….I hope this testimony helps anyone that is going through it or is in the middle of it…..Have Faith…For Our God is always there and knows what we can handle and with faith as small as a mustard seed….Nothing is impossible…Nothing…

About 5 to 6 years ago, I was raising a rebellious child, a 16 year old who thought he knew everything…he wanted no rules…he wanted to come and go as he pleased…he was choosing the things that I taught him  would be Bad and Wrong and would have bad consequences.
But he wanted no part of my teaching.

There were nights that I would get phones calls from him and the conversations were horrible…

There were nights that I had to go pick him up from the police station..

There were nights that I cried myself to sleep asking God where did I go wrong..

There were nights that I wished the phone would not ring after 2am…

There were nights that I wished he was a little boy again and I could get a do over..

There were nights that I feared I would get a knock on the door and a Officer would give me some news that any parent never wants to get….

There were nights….I could go on and on and on…but I think you get the idea….

Even through it all…I kept the Faith that God would get me through it…and my son as well..

“to you, if you have faith the size of a mustard seed, you will say to this mountain, ‘Move from here to there,’ and it will move; and nothing will be impossible to you.”” (Matthew 17:20)

This is where the Mustard Seed comes in….that small seed of my Faith in God and His plan for me and my son has grown into a Strong Study Plant!!!

About 19 months ago I got a phone call from him, no it was not at 2 am. That phone call was my answer from God…

My question to God was if my son would ever truly know what being good meant? Will he ever believe in God? Will he choose to follow him? Will he ever have a good heart? Will he be a good person? Will he care for himself to be responsible…..

Yes to them all.

And in that conversation my son asked for my forgiveness, he asked how could any person love a son as much as I loved him. He asked how did I get through all the things he put me through. He asked could I teach him.

That is when I told him about Faith, Love and God and even now when he call to say hello and tells me how his day was. We talk about all 3….

He recently showed me that he has that Good Heart, he has become a Good Person, he no longer takes drugs, and he has become a responsible person… enough to take care of his younger brother and sister for a week. He mentioned that he has Faith in God and reads from a book that his grandmother gave him that has passages from the Bible.

So I say to you all….Have Faith in God, nothing is impossible………..

Leave a Reply

