I Just Can’t Stop Smiling

smile 1

The Rat Race

My husband wasn’t home yesterday morning when it was time to get the girls ready for school. I was left to wrangle the herd by myself.

It is not an easy task to get all of the girls dressed, fed and off to school. On top of trying to get teeth brushed, hair brushed, socks on and possibly a jacket, I also have to convince our little Justin who has autism that she is not deathly sick and must go to school.

Her knew thing is to run into our room and yell “I’m gunna blow!” or “I’m gunna explode!”.

I’ve gotten to the point that it doesn’t phase me at all and I simply tell her “no you’re not now go get ready”. She exhales, drops her shoulders and surrenders to having to go to school.

Her mornings can easily end up in a nuclear melt down if we are not careful. Don’t brush her teeth before you brush her hair or it’s going downhill. I can’t even explain what happens if we don’t have a clean pair of long socks with dots on the bottom. If those are missing she will seriously not go to school. Seriously.

Along Came A Smile

Yesterday morning the girls were moving extra slow for me. The morning consisted of me poking and prodding them to move their feet and get ready. I may or may not have screamed “GET READY!” seven or eight times.

As I was in the kitchen trying to make lunches, clean up breakfast and sign folders, my little Justin walked into the kitchen. She was actually dressed and had a huge smile on her face.

She said “Mom, I just can’t stop smiling because you make me so happy”.

What was I doing?
What was my hurry?
Why was I so frantic?
What impression am I making on my girls?
How am I starting their day?

It’s my  job to make sure that they are prepared, fed and have their hearts in the right place before they walk out of my door in the mornings.

If I’m in such a hurry why don’t I just wake up earlier?

In the middle of my mess, my little girl who usually causes me the most grief in the morning walked into the kitchen, smiled and told me that she couldn’t stop because I make her happy. Yes, this was after the screaming at them to get ready.

I’m a bully.

Sometimes I forget to stop and count my blessings.

You Are God’s Greatest Blessing

God is never too busy for us. He never yells at us and He never hurries us out His door.

God is patient.
God is kind.
God is love.

God knows that you are one of His greatest blessings and He wants to take His time and spend every minute that He can with you. He gets up extra early so that He can spend time with you and not have to rush about the morning.

God can’t stop smiling because you make Him so happy.

I’m going to slow down this morning. I’m going to take extra time to snuggle with each one of my girl. I’m going to patiently wait for them to brush their hair and brush their teeth. I’m not going to freak out when we can’t find the long socks with dots on the bottom and I’m not going to frantically throw their lunches together.

As I walk each one of them right up to the door of their school (except the 7th grader, she would kill me) I am going to remind them that the smile on my face is because they make me so happy. As for the 7th grader, I’m going to roll my window down and scream out how much I love her as she walks to the door of her school with her way too cool 7th grade friends. It’s going to be awesome.

Take a minute to stop in the middle of your day today and count your blessings.

Let’s Pray

Gracious Father thank you for time. Time with our children, with our spouses, with our friends and with our family. Help us to slow down and take a look around to see how blessed we really are. When we get caught up in the rat race of life gently put your hands on our shoulders and remind us what is truly important. Bless us so much that we can’t stop smiling. In Jesus name, amen.

When I picked Justin up from school her teacher told me that she had a very rough day. Sweet Justin just couldn’t get it together. It’s usually the other way around, she has a bad morning at home and a good day at school. I was secretly happy that I got the good end of the day!

Leave a Reply

