She Mimics Me

be like mom

Our sweet sister Angela has written for us again. She is starting to spoil me. Take it away Angela.

 

Thankfulness.

Everyone seems to focus on the things they are thankful for in November. What about July when it’s 106 in Texas? I am still thankful. You will never hear me complain about the heat.

I have brothers in the military

– I’ve heard what it’s like to “try” and sleep at night in Afghanistan. I am thankful I live here in our safe place – even if it is 106. It’s a matter of mindset. It’s a matter of doing.

I have two kiddos who are in elementary school. Their hearts are full of love, imagination and innocence. It’s so much fun for me to watch them love life.

Kids mimic their parents, teachers and friends.

My daughter loves to play school. She is ALWAYS the teacher. She annunciates her words when she is reading and uses the same expressions her 1st grade teacher did when she plays. I love this about her.

But it also reminds me……she mimics me too.

That is why it is so important to be the best me. I try to live each day representing what I want her to act like when she isn’t with me. Isn’t that what God wants us to do? Be the best we can be? Not perfect…..just the best we can be.

I am independent to a fault. She mimics that behavior too. It drives me crazy when she is bound and determined to do things her way. But you know what else she does? She prays. When she feels sad about something she will tell you she needs to pray.

She mimics me.

She’s not ashamed to pray in a restaurant either before she stuffs her face.

She mimics me.

When she gets worried about whatever you have to worry about at 7……she knows to pray.

She mimics me.

I think my kiddos make me a better Christian. If you are a parent you know how your heart just swells when your kiddos come to you with their worries, fears and joys? Isn’t it nice to be the one they want to talk things out with?

I try to remember this for me too.

As a child of God, I should come to him with my problems, fears, anxieties….. How does he feel when we come to him to talk things out? I like to think he feels proud…….kind of like we do when our children come to us.

It makes me smile to think about it…..about how he longs for us to come to him. As much as we love our families, his love is so much deeper. Deeper than our hearts can ever know from where we are, so imagine how GOD feels when we come to him?

Let’s Pray

Amazing Father thank you for letting us come to you when we are tired and burdened.  We are thankful that we can lay our troubles at the cross and you will take care of them for us. When we are struggling and can’t let go gently remind us that you will lift our worries off of our shoulders and carry them for us. In Jesus name, amen.

Leave a Reply

