I’m A Doomsday Prepper!

Homemade Pepper Spray

My husband and I accidentally watched about 30 minutes of Doomsday Preppers yesterday. We were waiting for another show to come on and that’s what we landed on while we were waiting.

It’s actually pretty intriguing. These people were serious, very serious.

The episode that we watched had this poor lady who just moved over from Columbia to marry some American guy that she met twice. Within 30 minutes of her arrival he was testing her ability to pack a bag and run in the event that the world ends. She packed high heels and asked if she could bring a razor. I was proud of her.

Then another neighborhood group created their own pepper spray (lemon juice and chili powder..real inventive) , filled water guns with it and shot it in each others faces. Why didn’t they just stock up on pepper spray in the spray can from the store? They seemed to be able to stock up on everything else, why not the pepper spray. So they are going to store lemon juice, chili powder and water guns instead of just storing pepper spray…I’m so confused!

They strategically placed themselves through one of the houses that they plan on retreating to and fired at fake intruders with fake guns.

There was stock piles, can goods, flashlights, ammo, gas masks, blankets and so much more. There was self sustaining ponds that grew vegetation to eat and some sort of weird generator.

There point was to have somewhere to retreat and hid in, have enough food to live for a few months and have guns to fight off looters in the even that the world ends in it’s “doomsday” or nuclear war.

What?

I’m worried about them.

Going Home

Why in the world do they want to still be here after doomsday/nuclear war?
Why would you want to live in a hidden bomb shelter while the world is destroyed above you?
What happens when you get out?

The truth is, I am a doomsday prepper.

I don’t have a gas mask, stock pile of food or a closet full of guns.

I have God.

Doomsday, the Rapture, Nuclear War, End Of Times or whatever you want to call it when it comes will definitely not be pretty. I call it the rapture and I know for a fact that I won’t be here after it happens. I will be at the feet of Jesus and I won’t envy anyone that has perfected their earthly survival skills so much that they are still alive on earth in a bunker with fake pepper spray and 100 cans of cream of mushroom soup.

We have been preparing for this as much as the doomsday preppers on TV. We talk to our girls everyday about their Savior and what we have when we have Him. We remind them what it means to be a Christian and do our best to help them make choices that will reflect the heart of Jesus.

We surround ourselves in a community of people that help develop our skills. We teach the younger generations about Gods word and how to hid it in your heart.

I know that when “it” happens my house will be empty. All five of my girls will be dancing and praising in heaven and my husband and I will be there to watch them. I pray daily that anyone that I love will accept Jesus into their hearts before their time on earth is over.

Are you preparing to hid in your underground bunker or are you preparing your heart for eternal praise and worship?

If we make it to doomsday or not I would never trade my faith in what God has planned for me for a 27 flashlights, 182 batteries and a water gun full of lemon juice.

Let’s Pray

Merciful Father thank you for the sacrifice of your son so that we may have eternal life with you in heaven. Help us to live a life that prepares us and others for your great plan. Teach us how to bring people to your kingdom and keep them out of their hidden bunker. Let us be your hands and feet. In Jesus name, amen.

I lied about the gas masks. I want one. It would just be kind of funny to walk into my house with it on and see the kids reaction.

Leave a Reply

