Stuck In The Past.

Girls Night Out

I had a little girls night out this weekend with some of my girlfriends from high school. We met at a restaurant for dinner and a little chit chat. Most of the girls I had not seen since school and some not since out 10 year reunion.

We decided to make it a dress up party in honor of Halloween.

My focus is always my daughters costumes and I have not dressed up in years. I didn’t have a thing to wear!

We had a little facebook event page set up and we were talking back and forth about what everyone was going to wear. Half of the girls said they weren’t dressing up and just coming as themselves. The light went off in my head. I would dress up as just me….from 20 years ago.

I put on jeans, my letterman jacket and some early 90’s bangs.

Bangs

Do you have any idea what it took to get our bangs that way. I actually had to go buy a can of hairspray. We don’t use hairspray in our house and I needed some serious height on my bangs. I curled half of them up and half of them down, did the tease mix and sprayed them to the point that it almost made me physically sick. I pulled the rest of my hair up into a ponytail, stuck the biggest bow I could find in it and headed out.

When I got to the parking lot of the very nice restaurant it dawned on me that it wasn’t technically Halloween and my “costume” wasn’t very obvious. I had to walk in there and people were going to pity me cause I haven’t moved on from my high school years. I made it to our table without incident but little by little as my friends trickled in I found myself having to explain that it was a costume.

My friends cracked up because I looked exactly like I did in high school, give or take 10 (20 or 30) pounds. I was even wearing my senior ring in place of my wedding ring.

Not The Same Me

Even though I was sitting there looking like a 1993 version of myself, I had to be very thankful that no one sitting at that table treated me like the 1993 version of myself and that I didn’t possess the same qualities as the 1993 version of myself.

Thank God for grace, mercy and forgiveness.

What if everyone looked at you and thought about you the same way that they did 20 years ago? What if those people never let go of something that you might have done?

It so easy  for us to say that we are not the same person that were back then but it’s not as easy to accept that others have changed too.

Moving On

Are you holding a 20 year old grudge? Do you have unfinished business in your heart? Are you still holding someone accountable for something that they did in the past and can’t take back?

What if someone was doing the same thing to you?

God changes us. He let’s us grow and improve. He heals our hearts and mends our souls.

If we expect others to understand that we have changed then we owe it to others to accept that they have too.

“You can’t reach for anything new if your hands are full of yesterdays junk” – Louise Smith

Let it go. Move on. Forgive. Forget. Accept change. Release the grudge.

Let’s Pray

Merciful Father thank you for constantly changing our hearts and healing our souls. Open our eyes to the positive changes in our lives and help us to release the hurt from the past. Teach us how to be accepting of others change as we would want them to be accepting of ours.  Heal relationships that were ruined so many years ago and are now wasting time without being able to forgive and move forward. Helps us to break the cycle for our children that our pasts created for us. In Jesus name, amen.

As I was leaving my house that night to go meet my friends, I stood in front of my husband and said “Don’t’ worry, this is all yours and I’m coming home to you. Just in case I get hit on, you know.”  He let me know that he was not worried about anyone hitting on me in my letterman jacket and bangs!

Leave a Reply

