Covered By A Blanket Of Forgiveness

Acts Of Love

I am not used to people doing things for me as acts of love. I’ve grown up knowing that everyone expects something in return. God has proven me wrong in a big way over the past six months or so. I have no idea how to react when someone does something kind for me or praises me for something. I simply do not feel like I am worthy.

I have seen angels with my own eyes. I have heard them sing to me and I have read their amazing words.

One of the first acts of love that I experienced was when a friend emailed me and asked if she could edit some of my writings. She asked for 30 of them! I told her that I could not pay her and really had nothing to offer up in trade. I could almost hear her laugh at me through the computer. She told me that she wanted to do it as an act of love. I honestly didn’t even know how to react to that.

Another act of love was a letter that I got in the mail asking me for forgiveness from some who had held bitter feelings towards me for over 25 years. That letter as brought me one of the most amazing friendships that I have ever experienced. It was also followed by shoelaces, crosses, books and magazines that have opened my heart and my mind. Just between us, I often feel unworthy to have someone like her love me the way that she does.

I received another random letter in the mail from a sweet friend telling me thanks for encouraging her. It was full of humor and honesty mixed with serious confession and humbleness. Even though I was extremely honored, I also felt as though I didn’t deserve her trust or praise.

A friend from school emails me often asking for prayers or asking if I need prayers. She has confessed her life struggles to me and connect with me in a way that can only be from God. We share the bond of raising special needs children and I can find comfort in her at any time.

A women that I have never met messaged me and offered to help me with my blog page. For some reason I gave her my password that second as if we had known each other forever. She has since blessed me more than she will ever know. She chose to use her gift to help my crazy idea of W3. I’ve begged her to let me compensate her somehow and she ignores every request. She’s probably wishing I didn’t just write about her.

Angels Among Us

There are angles. They walk among us. They love us. They protect us and they care for our needs even when we don’t know how to ask for help. My team of angels go by the names of Victory aka: Kathryn M, Amber Z, Kristin F, Melissa R, Sylvia C, Renee F, Ashley B, Candice VD, Kelly R, Stephanie G, Mark V, Lisa S and so many more that I could fill hours of your time naming them.

It took me 37 years to learn how to accept someones love and kindness without wondering what they wanted in return.

God showed me the product of one women’s act of love to me this weekend that will be with me forever.

My girls friends packed our car and headed down to the Women Of Joy conference this weekend. We had to stop off and pick up another friend on our way. When we got there my W3 sister told me that I had to come in so that she could give me something. Her sister had made blankets out of my dad’s shirts.

From Shirts To Blankets

After my father committed suicide I cut up all his shirts in to little squares so that I could make blankets out of them. His clothes were the only thing that he had to his name and I couldn’t get rid of them. I don’t sew so I was stuck with tons of cut up squares. These wonderful women took them from me and created blankets that were more than I had ever imagined.

As we walked into her house and I wondered how I was going to react to this woman’s act of love to me. Like I said, I don’t know how to react when someone does something nice for me and expects nothing in return.

One by one she unfolded the blankets. Each blanket was unique and each one had a pocket sewn onto it with the word “DAD” on it. All I could do was cover my mouth and let the tears run down my face. I shook my head back and forth like I was saying no but I really have no idea why. The blankets are beautiful but it was this woman’s love that brought me to tears.

The series of events that brought this woman in to my life could only be designed by our Lord. I am forever grateful and will spend my life doing everything to glorify out sweet Savior in an effort to honor her and all the people who have shown me love, kindness, servant hood, grace, trust and generosity throughout starting this ministry and through the death of my father. I know that you do not expect anything in return but I simply don’t know how to leave it at that. I love each one of my angles and you know who you are.

Blankets Of Forgiveness

My sisters blanket. I love her. I love her humor and and her amazing eyes.

My youngest brothers blanket. He is a physical clone of our dad. He is quick witted, savvy and smarter than he knows.

My middle brothers blanket. His heart is almost too big for his buffed out body. I love to watch my daughters run to him.

My oldest brothers blanket. He’s my hero. He’s my dad. He’s my protector. He’s my strength. He’s my heart.

Leave a Reply

