Between A Rock And A Hard Place

For I, the Lord your God,
hold your right hand;
it is I who say to you, “Fear not,
I am the one who helps you.”
Isaiah 41:13

The Rock

When I was 19 I went to Enchanted Rock with two of my guys friends. Enchanted Rock is a HUGE rock that takes great effort to climb to the top.  It has small caves and crevasses to explore and tons of beautiful nature all around it. It’s right outside the amazing Fredericksburg,Tx. Google it, it’s wonderful.

We made the two hour drive with great anticipation. When we finally arrived I couldn’t believe my eyes. It really was a huge rock. I stood at the base of it and a little doubt started to creep in my head.

Could I make it all the way up there? Would I be dead weight for my friends?

In true male form they both challenged a race to the top. Oh great, just what I didn’t want. My 19 year old self had much more stamina and energy than my..well let’s just say older self okay. It wasn’t as hard as I thought it would be.

Going Deep

I have no idea who made it to the top first. Once we got up there we had completely forgotten we were even in a race. The view was amazing and the thought that we were standing on this huge rock was just strange.

At the top there is an area where you can venture in to the caves. I prayed that the guys wouldn’t want to go in there. I have severe claustrophobia so caves really aren’t my thing. I can’t even sleep in a sleeping bag because of it’s confinement. The caves would be close to death for me.

Of course the guys headed straight for the caves and couldn’t wait to get down deep in them. I didn’t say a word about my fear. I grew up with an older brother and learned early on not to show your fear and figure out how to hang with the big boys. So, I pulled up my big girl panties and followed them in to the dark, creepy, scary, tight, cold cave. I think I held my breath.

Fearing The Exit

I made sure to stay in the middle of the two boys as we made our way to the exit. I don’t remember a thing about hiking through it because the exit made me go into such a panic that everything before it was a blur.

The only way out was to lay on your belly and scoot like a snake because there were two rocks that were so close together you couldn’t stand or bend to walk out. I stared at the flat rock that i needed to lay on and the other flat rock that would be directly above me. I was about to be the ham between two pieces of bread, except the bread could easily crush the life out of me.

Tough guy # 1 made it out in 2.7 seconds, not that I was counting. Tough guy # 2 made it out in 5.7 seconds and I refrained from making fun of his losing to # 1 because I knew it was going to take me much longer to get out. By longer I mean 21 minutes and 43 seconds. Truth.

I laid frozen, unable to move a single muscle. Tears ran down my face and I didn’t care a bit that the guys could see them.

Both boys laid down so that they were on my level and extended their hands. The reminded me that they made it out without dying and I would do the same. They told me to grab their hands and they would do the rest. The told me to not be afraid, they would get me out.

I lived.

Take His Hand

I wouldn’t be able to list the many times that the Lord did the same thing for me.

In my deepest moments of fear and despair He laid down to put Himself on my level. He reached His hand towards me and reminded me that Jesus came before me and lives. He told me to grab His hand and He would do the rest. He told me to not be afraid, He would pull me through.

He has never failed me. He has never forsaken me. He has never turned from me.

He is my constant. My redeemer. My rescuer. My healer. My salvation. My rock. My right hand.

Are you belly down between two rocks? Are you frozen in fear of how you are going to get out. Do you want to turn around and find the way back to where you started?

Look up. Extend your hand. He is waiting to pull you through. He is laying down so that you can see Him face to face and eye to eye. His hand is extended waiting for you to grab a hold of it. He is ready to pull you through. All you have to do is rest, He will get you out.

Trust in the Lord with all your heart, with all your soul and with all your mind. Allow Him to be your rescuer and redeemer.

Let’s Pray

Redeeming Father thank you for your hand. Thank you for laying down at our level so that we can see Your face. Help us to grab Your hand and put our trust in you to pull us through. When we are frozen in fear gently remind us that You sent Your son before us and we need not be afraid. In Your precious sons Jesus name, amen.

On our way home from Enchanted Rock we drove through the beautiful hill country of Texas while I threatened the guy’s lives if they ever told anyone what happened that day.

Leave a Reply

