Shout It Out!

A Public Choice

When it was time to decide if we were going to put the kids in public school or keep them in our church school my husband and I struggled deeply. We absolutely love our church school but our bank account was screaming for a little relief and we needed the resource that the public school can get for our little Justin and her autism.

It was a choice that we had to make.

The public school that my girls attend is amazing and we are blessed that we get to be there. My husband and I prayed for the girls to have compassionate Christian teachers and we left it at that. God would take care of our girls. My husband reassured me that God wants them there so that they could disciple to children in the public school system.

Do we sound like a bunch of nut jobs or what.

Praying teacher

Many of the teachers that taught my oldest daughter are still there so we felt comfortable taking the triplets on their first day. There is one teacher there that taught my oldest daughter but that I never really got to meet.

I guess I just always thought that she did her thing at the school and then left at the end of the day to her fabulous life running wild and free. She is a knockout and I can pretty much guarantee that she doesn’t lack friends or fellowship. She is a strong presence and you can’t help but to give her your attention when she is around.

For the first time in years I took the time to see what she was about, so I checked out her personal page (stalker style). I was so pleasantly surprised to see that she confesses her love for Jesus Christ right there out in the open for all for the parents and students to see.

That’s not an easy thing to do in our public school system these days. That did not stop her. Brave, Bold and a Believer…you just can’t go wrong with that.

After a few friendly emails back and forth I started to feel a connection with this amazing woman. God’s cooking up something cool and I can’t wait to see what He has in store for us.

Here is the most amazing thing that I have experience since my oldest daughter started public school 8 years ago. This wonderful woman called me two nights ago and checked on my oldest triplet who was home sick from school. She asked if she could pray for my daughter. Seriously?!

Let me add that my daughter is completely obsessed with this teacher and told me the other day that she loves me and the teacher the most. In my daughters eyes I have been put on a level playing field with this teacher.

So, I took the phone in to my daughter, put it on speaker phone and watched my little girl light up as she heard her favorite teacher say a prayer for her. It completely confirmed that my husband and I made the right choice in where we sent them to their school.

Time To Shout It Out

It makes me sad that we have gotten to this point as a society. Where are we going wrong? Why can’t a woman who has an extreme love and passion for teaching and nurturing our children also confess her love of our Savior to these same children?

Thankfully she realizes all that God has done for her in her life and will never back down from putting Him as her number one. We can’t beg for His mercy and grace and then deny His name in public so that we don’t offend anyone.

What if He chose not to answer our prayers so that He didn’t offend those who don’t believe in Him. Yikes! Scary thought.

We can’t cry His name out when we are in despair and then whisper His name when we think we are in the clear. You do not want to stand before our Lord on judgment day and tell Him that you denied Him so that you wouldn’t offend someone or because you were trying to be polite.

It’s not cool to not love and know our Savior. It’s not hip to deny our God. It’s not trendy to ignore our Lord.

You what’s cool?

Cool is confessing your love for Him to anyone and everyone.  Cool is writing on your public page that you like to study the bible and not caring who it offends. Cool is crying out to the Lord and whispering your own name.

I want to be one of the cool kids.

Let’s pray

“Almighty Father thank you for never denying us as Your children even when we don’t deserve it. Remind us that it is our number one responsibility to tell others about you, at any cost. Help us to be brave and courageous in our love for You. Bring us to those who need to hear about Your amazing word. When someone clicks on our personal page let our love for you be all that they see. In Jesus name, amen”.

My daughter who is completely obsessed with this amazing teacher came in to our bedroom and did a break dancing move where she laid on her back and spun around. She said that this teacher taught it to her. Brave, Bold, Believer AND a Break Dancer! It just keeps getting better and better.

Leave a Reply

