I’m Starting With The Man In The Mirror

Do you want to know what’s pathetic?

Me.

I was browsing Pinterest, which I believe was created by a secret collaboration of Nabisco, Betty Crocker, Dunkin Hines, Pepperidge Farm, Bowflex, Crossfit, Jenny Craig and Mod Podge.

The newest thing is to take a picture of yourself in your sports bra and boy shorts, then go work out, eat right and post another picture in the same outfit three months later.

After that, you blog about everything you have eaten and all of your expert exercise tips.

The crowd goes wild. We take the bait.

We read every fitness tip that you have, even if it is direct conflict with the pin we read just before it. We believe them both.

So why does any of that make me pathetic?

Well, because I strive to look like most of the “before” pics.

I have no desire to spend most of my time working out, getting in my underwear, taking a picture of myself in the mirror and posting it on the internet.

I just want to wake up one day, get ready for work and notice that my once tight fitting jeans are now sagging down around my hips like a west coast rapper. I wouldn’t even put on a belt, I would proudly walk in to my work and point out that my pants are sagging.

The other pathetic part of me is that I want to eat every single desert that is posted.

Have you seen the one where you line the pan with cookie dough, layer oreos on top of that and then cover it all with brownie batter?

Get out of here!

I caved and made rice crispy treats but used oreos instead of the cereal. DO NOT DO IT!

You will hide them from your family and eat the entire pan by yourself. Trust me on that.

We can say that we aren’t obsessed with body imagine and that it is all about getting healthy but if that was the case we would be posting a copy of our report from our physical and blood work, not a picture of ourselves in underwear.

We can also pretend that we make those absurd deserts to take to parties or for special occasions but we all know we are pigging out on them smack dab in the middle of the week for no real reason what so ever except to feel it melt in our mouths.

Can you imagine if we were able to post before and after pictures of our lives with Christ?

What if we had a picture of ourselves standing in front of a mirror before we accepted Jesus and then a picture of ourselves after we accepted Him?

There may be no physical change, well except for that smile and glow but our physical shape wouldn’t necessarily be any different. This is when a full report and blood work up would come in handy.

Before my life with Christ, my life was full of unforgiven sin. It wasn’t pretty.

I self indulged, self loathe, self loved and worship gods that could never fulfill my needs. I lied, cheated and stole. The picture in my mirror was ugly.

I wasn’t about to fall for all the hype around Jesus, I was smarter than that.

I needed me and only me and almost died trying to prove it. Oh, if we only had blogs back then.

My life didn’t change over night after I accepted Christ.

I had to work at it. I had to practice it. I wasn’t used to it so I fell many times.

You could have caught me numerous times hiding from my family shoving life’s desert in my face and skipping my spiritual work outs.

After years of hard work and dedication to the Lord, I might be confident enough to look at my after picture. Of course I will always be a work in progress, that’s the best part about it.

God always has bigger and better things in store for you. He is always leading you to more.

More love, more faith, more trust, more dedication, more strength. And His reward is far better than any cookie dough oreo brownie batter baked to perfection. His gift is sweeter than the oreo crispy treats and the result of His love make you prettier and stronger than all the diet and work our routines you could ever Pin.

Can you imagine what our image would look like if we put as much time in to serving the Lord as we do serving ourselves?

Are you staring at your before picture or are you ready to pose for your after picture?

Let’s pray

Gracious Father thank you for giving us all that we need and for patiently picking us up each time that we fall. Remind us that You and You alone are all we need and that the gift that You have for us far exceeds anything that we can find here on earth. When we struggle to look in the mirror, gently place Your hand on our hearts and remind us who we belong to.

In Jesus name, Amen

Ok, back to that desert….can I top it off with M&M’s or would that just be over kill?

Leave a Reply

