Following The Kid

My sweet and silly friend sent me a package in the mail on Friday.

Included in the package was a pair of new shoelaces. She attached a note to them that read….

“To go with your new sole. When it all seems to be falling apart, this is to keep it together.”

I love her. She pours out blessings on me and because of her I have blessings far beyond what I ever expected.

Last night I laced up my shoes with the new laces. The are light blue with silver sparkles and I was sure that they were going to make me go faster and farther. I felt like a machine when I put my shoes on to go on my nightly walk. I felt so good that I ran in to my oldest daughters room and challenged her to go with me. It went something like this:

Me: Wanna go on my walk with me?
Stiles: Seriously. (insert eye roll and exhale.)
Me: If you can’t hang with your old mom I understand
Stiles: Nope, just wish you would have given me a heads up so that I could get ready
Me: Well, if you can’t keep up I understand.
Stiles: Nope, just need to get my shoes on
Me: I’m going all the way around the neighborhood, are you sure you want to go
Stiles: Seriously (insert eye roll and exhale)

I’m not sure what I was thinking when I challenged my physically fit, athletically dominating 12 year old daughter but trust me when I say that I have learned my lesson. It made me feel good when I stopped her to ask about the bruise on the back of her leg and she had to catch her breath just to tell me. I secretly laughed that she was winded but as any concerned mother would do, I ask her if she was okay. We could slow down if she needed to (oh please please say you need to slow down).  She didn’t take the bait and started walking at her brisk 12 year old pace again. She looked taller all of the sudden, like her legs had grown over night. Her stride was long and fast. What happened to my baby girl?  I pretty much stared at her back side for the rest of the walk. I could tell that she was trying to proving a point to me.  It worked. The bright side was that I didn’t want to look like the old mom who couldn’t keep up so I pushed myself harder than I usually do. I wanted her to be proud of me and I wanted to be as good as she is. If she would have lollygagged (it’s a word I promise) I would have lollygagged with her. The same goes for our walk with God. We can face our walk with Him at a half hiney pace or we can take off full force. If we chose to to lollygag along without pushing for more, then we are going to get lost. We will get sucked in by “just enough”.  I promise that when you strive for “just enough” it leaves a lot of room for the devil to catch up to you. It’s vital to have people in your life that will challenge you in your walk with Christ, that will set a pace that you need to work hard at to achieve and that won’t let you make an excuse to stop or slow down. Keep your eyes and your heart so focused on the leaders of the race and the prize in the Kingdom of heaven that you don’t have time to lollygag. Take the weight of sin off of you so that the burdens of life don’t weigh you down. Wake up every morning and ask God to help you run the good race. Keep pace with others who have the same goal that you do. Don’t be a lollygagger!  “Therefore, since we are surrounded by such a huge crowd of witnesses to the life of faith, let us strip off every weight that slows us down, especially the sin that so easily trips us up. And let us run with endurance the race God has set before us.” Hebrews 12:1.

Let’s pray

“Mighty Father remove the scales from our eyes so that we can focus our eyes and hearts on You and what You have waiting for us in Your Kingdom. Give us strength to keep pushing forward and striving for more. Put people in our lives that will challenge us in our walk and not let us be lollygaggers. In Jesus name, Amen”.

I took great pleasure in the fact that my daughters shirt was covered in sweat, her face was red and she was breathing heavily when we got home. I yelled out to her (because I was so far behind) to make sure that she drank some water. I really just didn’t want to look like a wuss when I was guzzling water attempting to re-hydrate.

Leave a Reply

