I’ve Got A New Sole

I had to go buy new tennis shoes yesterday. Tennis shoes, running shoes, walking shoes, whatever you want to call them. I’m a little embarrassed to say that the last pair of new tennis shoes that I got was a pair of pink sketchers that my sister bought me….10 years ago! They aren’t pretty and they aren’t comfortable. I never splurge on myself and I am not a shoe girl. I know, I know my girlfriends don’t understand it but I am completely satisfied with a pair of flip flops (yes I wear them to work) and a pair of boots. That’s it, I’m good to go. I have been going on walks more than I usually do (thanks Ashley) and my 10 year old shoes have been hurting my feet. So, I sent my husband a text from the grocery store yesterday and asked which insoles I should get for my pink sketchers. His reply “For crying out loud woman get some new shoes!”. It took me all day to make the decision to finally go get the new shoes. Have you been to the shoes store lately? Why all the choices? I wanted to walk in and just say “give me the size 10” and then leave. They have 100’s of different shoes with descriptions a mile long. DNA technology (seriously, they’re shoes), Trusstic System (who?what?), high abrasion rubber (sounds painful), inverted heel technology (who has an inverted heel issue), I could go on and on. How in the heck are you supposed to choose? I stood there and stared at all of the shoes for about 30 minutes. I walked up and down the isles. I loathe shoe shopping. I finally grabbed a pair, tried them on and left. I’ll never tell my husband that I bought the first pair. I think that’s against the rules. I could have picked any of those shoes, it was completely my decision, well except for that $135 pair, that’s just absurd. There were cheap pairs that probably weren’t going to be any good for me but I could have picked them if I wanted to. There were middle of the road pairs, comfortable enough, get the job done but probably not the best for me. Then there was the good pair, my pair. It didn’t hurt that they were yellow and silver and when I put them on they fit perfectly. I don’t know what they put in the heel of the shoe because I couldn’t pronounce it but it feels like a cloud in there, must have something to do with the inverted heel technology. That pair was “the” pair. The best part, I had a gift card. Score! I made my choice and paid with a gift that someone had given me. It reminds me of something. Free Will and a beautiful reward. That’s the amazing thing about God is, He gives us free will. We are free to make our own choice, serve who we want to serve, pray to who we want to pray to, treat others the way we want to and pick any pair of shoes we want. Have you ever question him about someone’s actions? Someone hurts you and you ask God “why did You let that happen?”. A man walks in to a theater and randomly and heartlessly kills people and we say “Why would God do that?”. God gives us free will and a guide to help us make the right choice. He doesn’t say that you HAVE to forgive He just says that it is what we are supposed to do. It’s up to us if we do it or not. He doesn’t say that we HAVE to accept His gift, He just highly suggest that it is in our best interest if we do. He doesn’t tell us that we HAVE to be servants, He just shows us that life may be a little better if we do. He doesn’t strong arm us, He just shows us what the right choices will bring and what we can have if we make wise decisions. He’s not giving us advice, He is telling us the truth. That makes it pretty easy for us doesn’t it. If you forgive others He will forgive you, easy choice. If you serve others He will reward you with a peaceful heart, easy choice. If you accept that His son is your Savior then you will spend eternity in heaven, obvious choice. He also doesn’t hide the fact that there will be consequences for making the wrong choices. You don’t have to forgive others but keep in mind that you will be the one asking for it at some point. You don’t have to serve the Lord but one day you will hear “what have you done to honor Me?”, you’re going to want a solid answer for that one. He is the judge and the jury and I pity those who don’t accept, honor, cherish, respect and spread His word. He makes it plain as day for us, check it out.
“My son, if you receive my words
and treasure up my commandments with you,
making your ear attentive to wisdom
and inclining your heart to understanding;
yes, if you call out for insight
and raise your voice for understanding,
if you seek it like silver
and search for it as for hidden treasures,
then you will understand the fear of the Lord
and find the knowledge of God.
Proverbs 2:1-6
There’s a lot of “if” in there a not single “have to”. It’s your choice, take it or leave it. Accept the free and beautiful gift that He gave you. Serve others in His great name. Be His hands and feet. Tell others about His word and His gift. The rewards are amazing and endless. It is your choice, you have the guide, you know the rewards and the consequences. Time to make a decision. Let’s pray “Gracious Father thank you for the gift of free will and for making it clear to us what beauty awaits us when we follow Your word. Guide us in the right direction and show us the way we need to go.In Jesus name, amen”. After not having new tennis shoes for 10 years, I have really high expectations for these new ones. I better take it easy on them, they need to last me until 2022.

Leave a Reply

