Hello (tap,tap,tap) Is This Thing On?

One day last week I was getting ready to head out to work, running a little late. I’m usually an early bird but the triplets started kindergarten last week and it has been a little rough getting back on the school schedule. I had a goal to get to my first account early and really attack my day. I was just about to pack up my laptop bag with all of my stuff so that I could office out of my car for the day when my phone rang. It was one of my friends from work. I speak to her just about everyday over facebook and from her work phone but this morning she was calling from her cell, something she rarely does so I knew that it was something important to her. I decided that being on time today wasn’t as important as what was on my friends heart and I took a seat to listen. She started off by telling me that she needed my help. You know someones in bad shape if they are calling me for help! She went on to tell me that she didn’t know how to pray. She was sort of comfortable praying in front of the children when she teaches them at church but definitely not comfortable praying out loud in front of adults. We talked about our prayers at the end of the W3 post. Those prayers are easy, I write them, I don’t speak them out loud in front of a large group. She wanted to know how to pray with others. I have a terrible fear of praying in front of other people. I talk to God the same way that I talk to my friends. Sometime I start off by saying “Are You serious God or is this a joke?” . It really just depends on what we are going to talk about. I wish that I was good at praying out loud. There is a woman at my church that makes people stop in their tracks when she start to pray (I love you Terri L). I can almost guarantee that when she starts praying, God hushes heaven and everyone freezes so that there is no other sound but her voice being carried up. A week ago I watched her approach the pulpit during invitation time and lay her body on the steps and pray silently. I couldn’t help but to picture God sitting next to her with His hand on her back, deep in conversation with her. I bet that she couldn’t hear a single sound around her aside from God voice. When she approaches my family in the halls of the church to chit chat she does not hesitate for one second to stop, put her hands on us and pray out loud. When she is done I always know that the prayer worked because Terri said it and when Terri prays I know that God is listening. She is good, really good at praying. I know that God hears her. I also know that God hears little children’s prayers. My girls go on and on in their prayers about anything that they can think of. God never tires from it, He never walks away during their prayers and He never cuts them off. We are His children, no matter how old or young. He loves us the way that we love our children. I take that back, He loves us far beyond how we love our children. He doesn’t care how eloquently we can speak or if we sound good to others. All He cares about is that we are speaking to Him from the heart. He is so in love you. He just wants to hear you talk to Him. You don’t have to say it out loud and you don’t have to say it with grace, just say it. He watches you all day long just waiting for you to look up. He can’t wait to hear you say His name. Right as you fall to your knees and your mouth opens slightly, He demands that heaven freezes so that He doesn’t miss a single word. He doesn’t care if you are down on your knees in front of the church, in the Sunday school classroom with 10 toddlers, alone in your car in the parking lot, kneeling beside your bed, sitting at the food court in the mall, or anywhere else. He doesn’t care where you talk to Him, just talk to Him. Can you just picture Him staring at you, smiling, possible giggling (I know He giggles at my prayers) and then singing with great joy that you turned to Him. I absolutely love it. He is the best dad EVER! If you can’t find the right words or you don’t think that you sound eloquent enough,the bible makes it pretty easy for you. It is after all the living word of God and reads true to this day. Check it out,
“This, then, is how you should pray: ” ‘Our Father in heaven, hallowed be your name, your kingdom come, your will be done on earth as it is in heaven. Give us today our daily bread. Forgive us our debts, as we also have forgiven our debtors. And lead us not into temptation, but deliver us from the evil one. For if you forgive men when they sin against you, your heavenly Father will also forgive you. But if you do not forgive men their sins, your Father will not forgive your sins.” Matthew 6:9-15
Easy enough. If you pray out loud in front of others then the example is set no matter how you speak to your Father. It’s going to sound like beautiful music. You are talking to your heavenly Father, He loves it and I can guarantee that the ones listening to you love it too. God loves you and wants to hear you, just speak to Him from your heart. Let’s pray “Sweet Father take the fear out of our hearts so that we can cry out to you when ever and where ever we are. Give us the voice that will sing your praise for everyone to hear. Show us how to be your hands and feet through our words as well as our actions. When we don’t know what to say remind us that all you want is to hear what is in our hearts. In Jesus name, amen”. My sweet friends answers the phones at our work (trust me, that’s not all she does) and you can literally hear the smile on her face. You can’t help but to smile with her. I can guarantee that God feels the same way when He hears her pray.

Leave a Reply

