Check Your Mailbox

When I was in my 20’s I used to never check my mail. It seemed to never bring good news. There was always a bill or a late notice and sometimes a letter from my dad that I had no desire to read. Once when I was eating at a restaurant near my house I ran in to my mail man and he told me that I really needed to bring my mail in because he couldn’t fit anymore in there. Checking the mail gave me anxiety, I didn’t want the bad news that it seemed to always bring me. I’ve gotten over it but that’s not saying that instead of bills I get checks in the mail. I just have a more organized and tame life so the bad news doesn’t find it’s way there anymore. I actually really like getting the mail now. Today when I checked it there was a book, a fresh new book. My sister who is serving the Lord at a children’s camp had it sent to me. We both love books and often share our latest find with each other. We find books in the mail from her quit often. There was something else in the mail addressed to me today. It was a pink envelope with my sweet friends name in the senders address spot. I stopped for a second and thought about what she could be inviting me to or if I had ordered something for her and she was sending payment. I couldn’t remember us talking about either of those. When I opened it I found a hand written letter of encouragement and thanks and a sweet reminder of our friendship. She signed it “Your sister in Christ”. That never gets old to me, it’s one of the sweetest things that I get to hear. I love when we get to call each other sisters and brothers and get the reminder that we are children of God. In her letter she wrote about how she was brought up Catholic, changed to a Church Of Christ and then back to the Catholic church. She went on to say that she didn’t think that it mattered what building you praised the Lord in and that it was really all about your relationship with God. Amen to that my sister! Would you please turn that in to a bumper sticker. It doesn’t matter where you go to talk to God. I don’t care if you are Jewish, Catholic, Christian or any other religion, I am not going to lie to you about God’s living word. It’s pretty simple, the only way to the feet of our Father is through His son, period. “For God so loved the world that he gave his one and only Son, that whoever believes in him shall not perish but have eternal life.” John 3:16. There is not a single one of us that is perfect and we never will be but Jesus was and is and always will be. He’s perfect and he wants you to love Him and believe in Him so that you can have a mansion in the kingdom of God. You can go to church,volunteer for every job in the building, sing in the choir, take up the offering and raise your hands in the air and yell “amen” but if you don’t accept the invitation to allow Jesus Christ in to your heart then none of that matters. Now don’t get me wrong, I would love for you to join me on Sunday, hold my hand and praise our Father but it won’t get you to heaven. I would love for you to drop your kids off a the children’s church and let them have fellowship with their peers while you volunteer in another Sunday classroom but it won’t take you to the feet of our Father. The only way to get there is by accepting the gift that God is begging you to take. Take it silly. What if you have already taken it, does it give you a free pass to sit on your a…..bottom? Nope. If you have accepted Jesus as your personal savior then you better spread the word. You don’t have to go to a building with a huge cross on it to have a church service. Matthew 18:20 says so, take a look , “For where two or three come together in my name, there am I with them.”. I’m writing this about God, you’re reading this about God, that makes two of us. There, you and I went to church today.. We have to multiply God’s kingdom. We have to be proactive and productive in our faith. If you are a child of God then shout it from the roof tops. It doesn’t matter if it’s the rooftop of a Catholic church or a Christian church or the neighborhood McDonald’s, just shout it. There is someone waiting to hear it. There is someone lost and all they need is for you to be brave enough in your faith to go to them and tell them what they can have when they allow Jesus Christ in to their heart. Make your church the Starbucks on the corner, the grocery store, the break room at work, your child’s school, make your church anywhere and everywhere. I don’t want to take away from our wonderful church, I can’t wait for Sunday to roll around so that we can see our church family, I’m just saying don’t limit yourself to on building or one label of what loving God looks like. If you haven’t accepted Jesus as your savior, there’s good news in your mail box, check it, accept it and tell someone about it. You can accept it right now, all you have to do is pray with us. “God I accept Your Son as my personal savior. I accept that when He died on the cross He did it for me and to wash away my sins so that I can have eternal life in the kingdom of heaven. . I want to learn how to live my life through You and learn how to be Your hands and feet. Teach me how to understand Your word so that I can become one of your disciples. In Your sweet Sons name, amen.” My friend that sent me the letter is one of the funniest women that I know and we always joke with each other so her hand written, serious and encouraging letter came to me it meant more than she will ever know. I might hire her to send me letters in the mail to boost my self esteem about once a month, okay once a week.

Leave a Reply

