ILY TTYL

Is it safe to assume that everyone texts at this point. My husband cracks up at our phone bills when he sees how many texts my daughter and I have used compared to how many he has used. We blow him out of the water by the 1000’s! Since I am in sales I spend most of my day in my car driving from account to account. Ok, that’s a lie, I spend most of my day at lunch with my friends and then some of my day visiting accounts. My friends and I text each other all day long. My sister and I think that we are hilarious so we are constantly texting each other our funny thoughts. My daughter is at camp so she has been texting me every chance she gets. I love getting texts from my husband in the middle of day reminding me how much he loves me or text from my daughters just saying hi. Those text are wonderful and warm my heart but the sweetest texts that I get are from my husbands exwife, my middle daughters mom. I’m serious. I wasn’t always able to say this but God moved mountains in our lives and we now get to share our lives together. It is truly one of God greatest blessings. I am a stepmom. Step parents, YUCK! Who wants them and who wants to be them! I do. I love it. I love that I will randomly get a texts from my daughters mom with my daughters picture or just a reminder that she loves us. I call that beyond blessed. I am equally thankful that I can text her anytime and remind her that I love her or tell her something fun that has happened to us lately. It’s not often that a wife and exwife or mommy and stepmommy tell each other that they love each other as often and she and I do. It’s a rare relationship and I can only explain it by saying that God has His hands all over it. My daughter lives a few states away but her mom makes sure that we don’t miss out on anything. We are forever grateful. I am a proud stepmom. I actually hate the words “step” or “half” and we do not use them in our house. We do not refer to any of the girls as half sisters or stepsisters. My oldest daughter calls my husband (not her biological father) “second dad” or “Billy Bob” (long story). Her dad is getting married and we call her new mommy ,her “second mom”. She is an amazing second mommy and we are so lucky to have her. My daughters don’t have a clue as to what a step or half sibling is. Aren’t we all Gods children anyways. I’ve never introduced my stepdad as my stepdad. I always say my dad. My daughter introduces my husband and I as her parents. My middle daughter introduces her mom and stepdad as her parents. I think it is wonderful and should be totally normal. Do you think that Jesus referred to Joseph as his stepdad. Sounds kind of weird to think of it that way but technically that’s what he was. I think that He probably introduced Mary and Joseph as His parents, as His mom and dad. Don’t get me wrong, I know that He proudly told everyone that was willing to listen and even those who weren’t willing to listen that God was His father. The bible mentions that Jesus had four brothers. James, Judas, Simon and Joseph. It also mentions sisters but does not name or number them. I can almost guarantee that Jesus did not refer to them as his half siblings. What it boils down to is that we are all God’s children which makes us all brothers and sisters. Not half sisters or stepbrothers. God’s Children. That also means that we get to call Jesus our brother. WHAT! How sweet is that! Jesus is proud to call us His brothers and sisters, I promise, read this “Both the one who makes men holy and those who are made holy are of the same family. So Jesus is not ashamed to call them brothers. He says, “I will declare your name to my brothers; in the presence of the congregation I will sing your praises.” And again, “I will put my trust in him.” And again he says, “Here am I, and the children God has given me” ( Hebrews 2:11-13 ). Let’s treat each other that way. Let’s not be ashamed. Let’s sing each others praises. Let’s put out trust in each other. Let’s treat each other with respect and love the way that brothers and sisters should. Wouldn’t that be wonderful. My daughters mom is my sister in Christ, I could say that over and over and never get tired of it. My W3 girlfriends all call each other sister. It sounds like like music. My husband is my brother…wait that just sounds sick so we wont go there. All kidding aside, it’s time to come together as children of God and rise up to who He wants us to be. Let’s not try to claim our title in someones life and just cherish that we are God’s children. The only label I want to wear is Gods daughter, the rest will fall in to place. Let’s pray “Father thank you for claiming us as Yours and Yours only. Help us not to battle for a title and instead shine in the title of Jesus sisters and brothers. Thank you for the sweet life that you gave to us so that we can be a family in heaven forever. In Jesus name,amen”. My oldest daughter had just turned 5 when I first introduced her to my then boyfriend (now my husband). She asked him what his name was and he said “Billy” which is not his name but he was trying to be silly with her. She said “Ok, but I’m just going to call you Billy Bob”. The name stuck and over 7 years later she still calls him that. Six months after we started dating my aunt approached my husband and said “I’m sorry, what is your real name, I only know you as Billy Bob”. Everyone in the family calls him that silly name all because he and my daughter goofed off when they first met. It’s one of my favorite stories.

Leave a Reply

