The Number You Have Dialed Is No Longer In Service

 

When I was many moons younger than I am now I had a boyfriend that went to school in another city.  We would call each other every single night and talk for hours.  Occasionally I would fall asleep on the phone.  Aww how cute.  What wasn’t very cute was the phone bill that was headed my way.  My mother was a single mom struggling to make end meet as it was and did not need to see that phone bill land on the table.  Our mail box was around the corner from our house and required a key to get the mail.  I took the key so that I could get to the phone bill before she did.  I’m not sure what I had planned after that.  Its not like I had a job.  I finally got my hands on the phone bill and hid it.  Brilliant.  It was a well thought out plan right up to the moment that the phone company turned our service off. Oops.  I wont repeat exact what went down in my house when my mom figured out what had happened but the $1000.00 that she/me/we owed to the phone company was more than either of us had.  I think that it was the first time that she grounded me and stuck to it.  Needless to say there were no more late night phone calls with my boyfriend. As a matter of fact, there were no more phone calls at all,to anyone.  What made me think that I was going to get away with that?  There was no doubt that I could not hide it from my mom forever.  There were definitely going to be consequences.  Delaying them did not make things any better.  I should have confessed right away. Ok, I should have never done it in the first place. I do this with God all of the time.  I sin, knowing that I shouldn’t be doing it at the time and thinking that somehow I could keep it from Him. I steal the key and check the mail box each day hoping that He wont realize what I’ve done.  I’m a fool. He doesn’t need the key, He can shut off my service whenever He feels like it. I guess you could say that He has the Master Key. There’s no hiding it from God.  He knows about the sin before we commit it.  We are better off confessing to Him, asking for forgiveness and asking for His help to be a better person from then on. Even better, we should just pray that we don’t fall in to sin in the first place.  You may think that God doesn’t punish us because He is so merciful and forgiving but I think that is wrong. I believe that God tries to help everyone but I also believe that you have to be open to His love and believe in His son Jesus Christ as our savior.  What if someone told you over and over that you weren’t good enough to be friends with, that you  don’t fulfill their needs, that you weren’t pretty enough to be seen with or that your love for them wasn’t worth accepting?  Does that sound like someone that you would lay your life down for?  Is that someone that you want to help, to heal, to save?  I doesn’t to me.   Do you think that when you go against Gods will He wants to scoop you up, love on you and give you your hearts desire.  Nope.  I’ve been there, trust me, it can get pretty ugly.  I treated my marriage like I deserved it, like I owned it, like I was the boss of it and I certainly did not make God the center of it.  So, God threw it in the mud.  He smeared my marriage, He broke it in half and then said that I had a choice.  I could fix my eyes on God, make Him top priority,trust and believe in Him or I could continue to be me.  He would do with my marriage what He saw fitting after I started living my life the way that I should be and not the way that I wanted.  I chose to follow Him and it led my husband to follow Him as well.  When our hearts were truly fixed on God and nothing else, He cleansed us, fixed us, made our marriage more special and wonderful than I had ever dreamed of.  Yes, He punishes us.  I don’t think that He directly puts a punishment on us, I just think that He takes His hands off of us and without Him we are nothing. To me, not having Gods hand on my life is punishment.  The beauty of it is that its our choice.  You can live the way you want, you are free as a bird but you are also free to fall without a net.  Or, you can live your life focused on our heavenly Father and reap the benefits of being His child. I’ll take the second option thank you. Have you ever read about Kind David and what the Lord did to him when he strayed from the truth of God.  Ouch, pretty scary.  I don’t even like to think about it, much less read it.  If you dare, take a look at 2 Samuel 11 and 12, it might make you walk a little straighter in the Lords word. It will also stir a huge debate about Gods grace and mercy.  In the end it’s your choice, free as a bird or Gods child.  Lets pray “Merciful Father teach me how to be open and honest about my sins.  Lead me not into temptation.  When I am faced with temptation that is to much for me to resist help me to be brave enough to confess. Have mercy on me when I lose focus and turn my eyes from You.  In Jesus name, amen.”  My moms birthday is coming up next month.  Who thinks it would be kind of fun to get her a calling card as her gift.  Funny or too soon?

Take a minute to read this verse today.  It is in my top favorites and brings me much comfort. It might be one to hang on your mirror or anywhere else you could catch a glimpse of it throughout the day.
“No temptation has seized you except what is common to man. And God is faithful; he will not let you be tempted beyond what you can bear. But when you are tempted, he will also provide a way out so that you can stand up under it.”  1 Corinthians 10:13

Thank you sweet Father.

Leave a Reply

