There is a Serial Killer in My Kitchen


When I was in third grade my brother and I were home for the night while my parents went out. I’m pretty old so at that time the thing to have was a pager. Its a thing that you can call and punch your number in. The person with the pager gets a notification with your number. Just wanted to clear that up for those of you who were born into the cell phone world. My brother was in fifth grade and we were both terrified of our house at night. It was a two story home with a balcony inside. You could see down the long hall upstairs when you were sitting in dads chair downstairs. When we were home alone we would both sit in dads chair and pile stuffed animals and blankets all around us, because we all know that a serial killer cant get you through a pile of blankets. While we were huddled up on that chair we started to hear a noise in the kitchen. We were sure that it was the killer tapping his knife on the counters trying to scare us. The serial killer in the kitchen literally taped his knife on the counter ever three minutes for an hour. I guess we thought that he was really taking his time to attack us. We finally convinced ourselves that it was the refrigerator and stuck ourselves together, wrapped a blanket around us and walked to the kitchen together to face our killer. Much to our relief, my dad had left his pager on the kitchen counter and it was on vibrate. The pager was going off every three minutes to remind him that he had a page. Well, that or our serial killer ran off when he saw how big my brother was. My whole life I always thought that my brother was no less than 8 feet tall and built like a tank. I saw him beat up a kid in second grade because the kid threw a light bulb at me, I saw him beat up a kid in the fifth grade because the kid cussed at me and I once watched from the window of one of my classrooms in highschool while he fought 5 guys by himself. I’m sure that wasn’t by choice but to me he had no fear. While I thought that he faced those guys with confidence I can only imagine that his heart was beating, palms sweating and that he had to talk himself into protecting himself. I think that’s probably how David felt when he faced Goliath. David had been saved from death several times by the Lord. He told the king of the Israelites that he would fight Goliath. The king doubted David and told him that he was too young to face the giant but David knew that the Lord was with him. I think we know the rest. David gathered five smooth stones and his shepherds sling. What a joke he must have looked like. He was basically showing up to a gun fight with a butter knife. I imagine that David was praying pretty hard when he ran fearlessly towards the giant. He didn’t back down, he didn’t turn and run and he didn’t ask for anyone’s help except the Lords. He won the fight. There really wasn’t even a fight. Goliath didn’t stand a chance against Gods chosen one. It makes me think about one of my favorite verses. Take a look. “What, then, shall we say in response to these things? If God is for us, who can be against us?” Romans 8:31. That’s one that I have to repeat to myself throughout the day. We are attacked by giants every single day. Some days the giant isn’t as big as the one the day before but there is always a giant after us. His name is satan. He’s a jerk. What giant is he putting in front of you? Is he tempting you with lust? His he tempting you with fame. Is he tempting you with money? He has so many tools that he uses. For me he tempts me with the hotel that my father took his life in. He tries to lure me there and he used to be successful at it. He tempts me with food. I work for a food company so its at my disposal all the time. He tempts me with alcohol, I would be an amazing alcoholic. Those are my giants, they stink! Sometimes when I look in the mirror satan points out all the things that aren’t up to par with my body, that’s probably when I hate him the most. The only one who can help me is my savior. I beg Him to remind me of my worth every single day. He always answers that prayer, always. The only way that I can face Goliath each day is by talking to God before I even open my eyes in the morning. What are your giants? Is there a bottle of liquor in the cabinet calling your name? Is there physically imperfect person staring back at you when you stand in front of the mirror? Is there beautiful person that doesn’t belong to you tempting you in to adultery? Let me tell you that not a single one of those things is too much for God. It is too much for you, you cant do it alone. You cant do it by talking to a friend, you have to talk to Him. He thinks that you are more valuable than the finest jewels. In His eyes there is no way to measure how much you are worth. He is waiting to take down your Goliath. He is waiting to give you the courage that you need to face anything that comes at you during the day. It’s still early in the morning, there’s plenty of time to ask Him to lead you today. It cant hurt can it. Stop right now and talk to Him. Tell Him what you fear, what you are tempted by and what you need Him to help you face today. Don’t approach your giant alone, you will not win. Lets pray “Almighty Father thank you for the blanket of protection that you put over me each day. Give me the courage that it takes to face my giants. Give me the faith that David had in You when he grabbed that sling and stone. Be with my friends that aren’t ready to come to You for protection. In your sweet son Jesus name, amen”. Wouldn’t it be nice if we still carried pagers instead of phones. Its kind of like a text that you don’t have to return if you don’t want to. You could just use the excuse that there wasn’t a pay phone around. Ok youngsters, a pay phone is a phone that was mounted in a public place that you could use for a quarter.

3 thoughts on “There is a Serial Killer in My Kitchen

Leave a Reply

