Sister In Christ

Some of my friends from highschool got together this weekend to do a vendor event. There was about 7 of us and we all set up our little booths with whatever it is each of us was selling. We had jewelry, makeup, tutus, wickless candles, bags, jeans and crosses. My generous friend opened her beautiful home to all of us and set up a yummy spread of food. We also had some wine and some mocktail. The best part of the night didn’t have anything to do with any of that. The best part was that we got to hang out, share stories about our families, laugh and share our faith. This group of women is amazing. On Friday we were standing around the food, chit chatting and waiting for our guest to arrive one of our friends from school came in. I haven’t seen her in years and didn’t think that she would remember me or even know who I was. She came in and said hi to a few of the girls and then saw me standing there. I have not had a greeting like hers in a very long time. She acted like we hung out everyday. She wrapped her arms around me and gave me a genuine hug, I seriously had to make myself not tear up. I was happy and shocked at the same time. In my eyes, I was just some girl that went to her school at some point, I never thought that she would put her arms around me. We sat down together and gave each other several of our testimonies. I could have told her anything and everything that I have done or been through in my life. I know that without a doubt God sent her to me that night. I have women in my life that are my sisters in Christ, women that I am with all the time and that eventually we started referring to each other as sister. I had an instant connection with each of those women. This is the first time in a long time that the second I saw someone I wanted to tell them that I love them. Maybe it sounds like a little much or a little mushy or a little weird, that’s okay, it was God doing His work. God has perfect plans. I spent the majority of my life rebelling against Him. When I finally gave my life to Him, He started putting these amazing women in my life. I cant believe that I have know this woman for so many years and really knew nothing about her. I could tell you her eye color, hair color, height and that she is hilarious but until this weekend I had no idea of her struggles or where her heart is. Why do we do that? Why do we hide so many things in our life out of fear. When we are brave enough to open up and share, it is amazing how other people will relate, comfort and encourage us. When my friend and I were talking about this very thing she said we all seem to put our game face on and basically enter battle. But we don’t have to. We all have struggles, we all have highs and lows and we have all fallen short of Gods glory. None of us will ever measure up to Jesus and none of us will ever be without sin. So why don’t we stand together and for each other. Why don’t we share our testimonies so that we can help each other and possibly save each other. Its our responsibility to tell people what they can have with God and we cant do that without opening up and reveling that, in spite of the dirt that is on us, God still loves us and washes us clean as snow. Its true. I promise!. If I had not given my life to Christ years ago, my friend and I would have sat there and talked about how I have kids in bulk like I’m shopping at Costco or how she has to deal with a wild herd of teenagers every day but we would have never embraced each other at the end of the night and told each other how much we love each other. I want that with everyone. I want to call each and every one of you my brother or sister in Christ. If you have given your life to Christ then reach out to your brothers and sisters and share yourself, share yourself with anyone that will listen because you never know who you are going to touch. If you haven’t given your life to Christ them call me, write me a letter, email me, send up smoke signals, I don’t care how you reach me just do it so that I can tell you how amazing it is to be His daughter and to have an endless amount of brothers and sisters. If you don’t want to talk to me, talk to someone who knows God personally. I have tons of sisters and brothers waiting to be with you,waiting to love on you, waiting to stand up for you, waiting to tell you how much they love you. Whew, I think I’m breaking a sweat here! Lets pray “Heavenly Father thank you for the sweet surprises that You put in to our lives when we least expect it. I am in awe of how amazing You are and amazed at the gifts that You have waiting for us to accept. Help me to be a role model and example to anyone that sees me or hears me. Teach me how to talk to people who don’t know You or haven’t given themselves to You. In sweet sweet Jesus name, amen”. My mind is still racing today over what my dear friend shared with me this weekend. I feel privileged, blessed, and lucky that she would take that time to talk to me and be trusting enough to tell me her stories. All my life I have always felt like someone that people wouldn’t necessarily open up to and trust. My friend proved me wrong and will probably never know what this weekend meant to my faith. God is good. This is something that I know for sure. My friend and I just became friends on facebook last night. I went to look at her wall and much to my surprise she had reposted almost all of the posts from this W3 site. I had no idea that she was reading or sharing what I was writing. It has been one of the most humbling experience of my life. I told her that I was definitely going to be writing about her but I promised not to use her name. You know who you are sweet sister. I love you

Leave a Reply

