Three Little Pigs


When we first found out that we were pregnant with triplets everyone had their two cents to throw in. They “suggested” how I should eat, sleep, organize, get up, sit down, walk, how I should feed them, name them and get them to sleep. My doctor even suggested how I should go to the restroom,seriously. Everyone had a cousin with a friend who has sister that knows someone who had triplets. I heard horror stories, stories of triumph and stories of loss. Our first doctor even suggested we do “selective reduction” to give the others a chance to grow. I changed doctors. People said I should dress them alike, not dress them alike, name them rhyming names, not name them rhyming names. For the record I wouldn’t ever dress them alike unless its a special occasions and I wouldn’t have ever named them rhyming names or same letter names. I want them to be individuals. Just my personal opinion. A week before I delivered them, my doctor sent me to a special doctor to have them looked at more closely. I thought that something was wrong but he only sent me because he couldn’t believe how big they were and he wanted another doctor to see them. I delivered them a week later at 35 weeks. They were healthy and beautiful . I remember that I was laying on the recover bed with my husband holding my hand when the doctor walked in. He said 5.5, 5.6 and 5.8. I asked him what he was rambling about and he said “That’s how much your babies weigh.” I lost 33 pounds that…its my record. After we took them home there was a flood of people that came to see them, much like the freak shows at the circus. I was tired, had lots of stitches, swollen and look like a complete mess. Good thing no one was there to see me. From the day that I got pregnant people would say that I was wonder woman or super mom . I was neither, none of it. Nothing about how wonderful, big and healthy they were had anything to do with me. It wasn’t me. It was God. It had nothing to do with what I ate, how much I rested i got or how calm and relaxed we kept our lives during the pregnancy. I was reading about Moses parting the Red Sea last night. I have heard people tell the story all my life but they always said that Moses parted it, but he didn’t. I just realized that last night. Take a look. 15 Then the Lord said to Moses, “Why are you crying out to me? Tell the Israelites to move on. 16 Raise your staff and stretch out your hand over the sea to divide the water so that the Israelites can go through the sea on dry ground. 17 I will harden the hearts of the Egyptians so that they will go in after them. And I will gain glory through Pharaoh and all his army, through his chariots and his horsemen. 18 The Egyptians will know that I am the Lord when I gain glory through Pharaoh, his chariots and his horsemen.” Exodus 14:15-18. Verse 16 is God telling Moses to raise his staff and stretch it over the sea. Moses couldn’t have don’t that on his own, no way. God did it, He just used Moses to get it done. All this time I thought Moses was creating the miracle. Moses didn’t do it, just like I didn’t create the miracle of my healthy triplets. God used me to get these little angels here and He obviously has some pretty big plans for them. I cant wait to see what He has in store. Miracles happen everyday we just need to recognize them as Gods doing and not our own. Dont let the wonder of a miracle pass you by. Lets pray “Heavenly Father thank you for the miracles that you put into our lives. Help us to recognize those miracle as Your doing and not ours. In Jesus name, amen.”. Now I’m not comparing giving birth to triplets to the amazing miracle of Moses parting the Red Sea…of course having triplets is harder! I cant tell you how many people say “Triplets, how did that happen?” I always answer “by the grace of God” but wouldn’t it be kind of funny to go into details about the birds and the bees and give them all the details of when the triplets were conceived.

2 thoughts on “Three Little Pigs

Leave a Reply

