Mommys Day

I’ve had the same best friend since I was 6. We met at the same elementary school that my little girls go to now. Her family was my second family. Her mom called me daughter number two. We literally spent every weekend together and went to school with each other until we graduated. Even after high school we moved in together. She is the sister that I never had (of course I have a biological sister now but she was not born until I was 23). I love her like she is my family. She is my family. Her grandparents had a nickname for me and every time they said it I felt so special. Her aunt treated me like I was hers and it felt like her cousins were my cousins. I can not explain to you how much I looked up to her and still do. She was and is sweet, smart, passive and kind. All the things that I lacked growing up. We grew up side by side. Exactly a year ago, on this same day, she called me. She asked me what I was doing and where I was. I could tell that something wasn’t right. She had been my best friend for 30 years, I could tell in her voice that she was going to tell me something I didn’t want to hear. Very calmly she said “My mom is dead.” I was driving down the highway with my kids in the car and I felt like screaming and pulling over right there. My heart broke for her. Someone had found her mom in her apartment, in bed and passed away. I couldn’t believe that my best friend was going to have to go through this. She seemed okay but later when I talked to her husband he said that she had broken down a few times. All I wanted was to be able to know what to say to her and do for her. The next day was mothers day. My best friend and her little brother, whom I consider a brother myself) spent their Mothers Day at a funeral home planning their mothers funeral. Seriously God, on Mothers Day! Why would You do that! On that same day is when my husband and I dedicated our triplets in church and took my mother out to lunch. I felt guilty that my friend was sitting in a funeral home. Why in the world my sweet God, why would you do this? Where is the lesson? Where is the blessing? I still cant answer that. I still don’t know why He took her the day before Mothers Day. I’m not mad at Him and neither is my best friend but we still just don’t know why. I know that my best friend wants to enjoy her two beautiful boys on Mothers Day but I also know that she will have her mind on where she was last year. Not fair. Not fair that I will be eating lunch with my mom and she will be thinking of planning her moms funeral. Not fair. I think that God put her and I through this because 6 months to the day after they found her mom, they found my dad. He was in a hotel and died by his own hands. After 30 years of friendship, our parents died the same year on the same day of the month and both were found alone. There is no way that I would have made it through my fathers death without my best friend and I know that she needed me when her mom passed. How long do you think that God had been planning that? Decades? Years? Months? days? When does He start planning our path? I don’t know. I know that He knows us before we are even a thought. I know that He knits us in our mothers womb. I know that He does good for those who love Him and I know that my friend and I love Him so, I will wait patiently to see what good came out of both of us loosing our parents last year. Stop this weekend and think about God knitting you in your mothers womb. Why did He choose her to be your mother? If you were blessed enough to be adopted think about how careful God was in choosing your parents and how blessed you are that He chose to knit you in the womb of a woman that loved you enough to give you a loving home. I roll my eyes at my mom, yes, Im 36 and still roll my eyes. I take her for granted much too often. I have an amazing mom and will make sure that i give thanks to God for knitting me in her womb, for choosing her as my mother. Lets pray “God thank you for the blessings that You hand out to us daily. Please help me not to take any moment with my mother for granted. Be with those who have lost their mothers and wrap Your arms around them for comfort. Comfort those who are struggling to become a mother. I know that You have a plan for them and will one day knit together their child if its in their womb or another woman’s. Tomorrow morning please give sweet Mary a kiss from me and tell her how much I love her and want to model my faith from her. In Jesus name, amen.” So what is it that you want for mothers day tomorrow? I want to lay in bed, never get out of my pajamas and have all my girls snuggle up and watch movies all day.

Leave a Reply

