I’m Leaving Everything

I left for work yesterday and had a million things that I needed to get done before lunch time. Lunch time is reserved for my group of friends that helped me start W3. Whoever is available to meet, meets and has lunch. We try to waste as much time as possible until one of us forces the rest to go back to work. That’s the hard part of not having an office to sit in, its takes a lot of discipline to keep going throughout the day. My job also requires me to have my phone and my laptop with me at all times. When I say at all time I really mean it. My boss once sent me an email from the bathroom. He excused himself from the lunch table to use the restroom and while he was in there I got an email from him. He claims to this day that he sent it before he went in but I like to harass him about it as much as possible. There is never a moment that any of us are without our phone or laptops. When I left yesterday in a rush to get all of my errands done, I got half way down my street and realized that my phone was sitting on my desk at home. I had no choice but to do a U turn and go back to the house for it. It is something that I can not leave behind. What would happen if I missed a customers call. What would happen if my daughters school called or my husband had something super important to tell me. Worst case scenario what if my sister had something funny to tell me and my phone was sitting on the desk!! My husband teases me and say that I think my phone is what starts my car because when I get in I immediately dial my sisters number so that I can chit chat until I get to my destination. What is the one thing that you have to have on you all day. Is it your phone, a lucky coin, your wedding ring, eyeliner, lipstick or some other treasure. What if when you woke up this morning Jesus was at you breakfast table and He said to you “if you love me, you will leave everything and everyone and walk with me”. Umm wait a second Jesus, did you say EVERYTHING and EVERYONE? I guess you didn’t see the little girls asleep in there beds because if You did, You would not ask me to leave them behind!. And my husband Jesus, really, do You really expect me to leave him behind? Ok, hold Jesus, you’re going to let me take my phone right? What if I need to get in touch with someone. Nope, He wants us to leave it all behind, all of it! Read what He says in Luke 14:25-27 Large crowds were walking along with Jesus, when he turned and said “You cannot be my disciple, unless you love me more than you love your father and mother, your wife and children, and your brothers and sisters. You cannot come with me unless you love me more than you love your own life. You cannot be my disciple unless you carry your own cross and come with me”. All of it. Everyone. Could you do it? I seriously doubt that I could. Could you carry your own cross? I know how much my cross has weighing on it, how many sins are carved into it. The weight of it would be crushing. I wouldn’t make it a mile trying to carry it. Could you walk away from the luxuries of your home, your car, you kids, your spouse, your parents? I am very much in love with Jesus but I don’t think that I have the strength to pick up my own cross, leave behind literally everything and follow Him. It was a brave move that His disciples made when they began their journey with Him. I wish I had half of their courage and faith. Lets pray “God thank you for the gift of Your son. Thank you for letting Him walk the earth and take on our sins as His own. Please give me a fraction of the courage, strength and faith that his disciples had and the love and compassion that Jesus had. Help me to raise my family to be more about Jesus and less about things. In Jesus name, Amen.” Now about that phone starting the car thing….so your saying that I don’t have to be on my phone for the car to start..interesting.

Leave a Reply

