Zip Line Fail!

My family and I went to my sister and brother’s house on Sunday so that the kids could play in the river and we could all eat dinner together. After a few hours at the river we all pitched in and cooked dinner. Okay, that parts a lie. My sister made dinner and I watched. I think I might have cheered her on a few times, does that count? We sent the kids outside so that the could get some fresh air (so we didn’t have to listen to the craziness inside). My brilliant brother has installed a zip line for the kids in his front yard. He built a little platform with stairs so that the kids can climb up, grab the zip line and fly across the yard. I don’t know if you have ever zip lined before but when you hit the end it can be a little rough. My oldest daughter carefully guided each one of the triplets down the zip line and made sure that they didn’t fall. I have to say she is one of the best sisters in the world. While my sister, brother, husband and I were chatting it up in the kitchen, my oldest daughter walks in with one of her sisters cradled in her arms. My middle triplet was creaming at the top of her lungs. She had dirt in her mouth, dirt up her nose, dirt on her knee, blood on her chin, blood on her other knee and even some dirt in her ear. My oldest daughter look terrified as she handed her to me and started apologizing immediately for not catching her at the end of the zip line. It only took a minute to clean her off but she is my autistic daughter so getting her to calm down was a little harder than wetting a wash cloth. When she finally calmed down I laid her on the couch and she fell asleep, curled up in a little ball and covered with a blanket. I think it is very much like the way that the angels carry us to our Jesus. Can you imagine Jesus sitting at His throne and an angel walks in with us in her arms. We are covered in dirt and sin, we are crying because of our pain and all we want is to be fixed. Jesus takes us, calms us and cleans us white as snow. We have no more sin because of Him. We are spotless. We are free from pain. It is finally the time for Jesus to kiss the top of our heads and lay us down so that we can finally be peaceful. We have that gift today, everyday, all day. All we have to do is accept it. We are not without sin but we no longer have to pay the price for it. Our sweet Jesus did that for us. He did that for you. Would you take His place? I don’t think that I would have the courage, but He had the courage and took our place for us. I think that I could do it for my own children but for the whole world, for the people that don’t even exist yet, I don’t think so. He didn’t deserve to die on the cross, He did it because of how much He loves you. I can not even fathom that kind of love. Not only did He love you and I but He even loved the people who were crucifying Him. While He was on that cross beaten, bleeding, dying, He shouted out to His Father, “Father, forgive them, for they do not know what they are doing.” Luke 23:24. What! I think I would have been cussing and screaming at those people and telling my Father to punish them and punish them good. He didn’t. He asked His Father to forgive them. :ets {ray “Oh heavenly Father please give me that kind of love, compassion and forgiveness in my life. Please make me a woman that can put myself behind others. Make me an example for the ones that You love. Use me how You want to, use me for Your glory. Clean the dirt from my mouth, wipe the blood from my face and let me be comforted by your sweet embrace.” My oldest daughter told me today that she feels guilty about her sister falling. She immediately took the blame and admitted that she was not paying attention. She was prepared to take the consequences. She just wanted her sister to be okay. Jesus does the same for us. If you haven’t accepted His love and what He did for you, make today the day. You will not regret it. If you have accepted Jesus Christ as your savior then tell everyone you know about Him and how much He loves us. Be prepared, pay attention and get ready to catch them at the end of the zip line.

One thought on “Zip Line Fail!

  1. Really great word. Thanks for sharing. We took our elementary school-aged boys to Costa Rica a couple weeks ago for spring break and did some ziplining. Even there you hit pretty hard at the end. I could see some injuries happening in a front yard zipline without a harness.

Leave a Reply

